Coleman powermate genpower 305 6250watts needs rewiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-13, 03:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Coleman powermate genpower 305 6250watts needs rewiring

The engine is working fine but it got diagnosed as needing a rewiring of the generator ! Are there any outfits out there able to rewire the generator part of a powermate portable generator ? If so, is it worth it ? Are those generator replacable if the engine works fine ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-13, 03:59 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
You could get a new head unit, but often its a component that fails like the bridge rectifier....

Probably cheaper to buy a new gen if it needs a new head unit..

Make a mini bike out of the engine of the old unit....


 
  #3  
Old 12-12-13, 04:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
powermate

You know what, I think you got a heck of a good idea. Looks good too.
 
  #4  
Old 12-12-13, 08:20 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,750
Where are you located? In the less developed countries where I travel it is common and inexpensive to have electric motors and generators re-wound. The one guy I've used is quite good albeit low tech. It can also be done in developed countries but often repair shops are fewer and more concerned with liability and covering overhead costs so it may be cheaper to make a mini bike. (I know what Lawrosa want's for the holidays.)
 
  #5  
Old 12-12-13, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
powermate generator

I am in Canada which I think isn't a 'less developed country'. Often bought rebuilt alternators and starters but these shops aren't too keen on doing it for a generator. It was given to me by my brother and we both knew it didn't output any power. Some welding machine repair shop wants $250CAN to repair it. I told him I'd think about it first.
 
  #6  
Old 12-12-13, 11:58 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,750
Are you certain that it needs rewiring? If it sat for a long time it could just need flashing to re-magnetize enough to start working.
 
  #7  
Old 12-12-13, 04:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
powermate

I tried that. It stopped giving power while my brother was chopping wood with his skillsaw. He also burned some light dimmers cause output hovered around 80 volts.
But, it's probably worth taking it to another repair shop for a second opinion.
 
  #8  
Old 12-12-13, 05:16 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
output hovered around 80 volts.
First you need to check the RPM of the unit...

This is brushless desight?

Pull the molex connector and test the ohms of the windings... That will tell you a lot...

Then the bridge rectifier needs to be checked..

Yes get a 2nd opinion and have them tell you exactly whats wrong...

may just be a cap or diode in the head on the Colemans.. They are attached to the stator after you pull the end cap off...
 
  #9  
Old 12-12-13, 06:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
I need that scooter, I don't know why but I need it, like our kids growing up when they would say they wanted something we would tell them, "you don't need that", they soon changed from "I want" to "I need", I need that. Have a good one. Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes