Tecumseh horizontal shaft engine won't start

Old 12-29-13, 11:12 AM
Question Tecumseh horizontal shaft engine won't start

Hi guys,

Newbie here and have been searching the engine posts for a similar issue I'm having, but found nothing close. A friend gave me an older Airens snow blower since it did not start. I know its from the 1960s since I have a similar looking one, but bigger. It also has an electric starter - the kind that plugs in with an extension cord. The first problem I found was the engine had no spark. Took off the shroud and saw the flywheel key was sheared off. Got a new key and put flywheel back on and now it has real good spark. Engine has great compression too. I think my friend used the electric start and the engine kicked back, thus shearing the key. I am now trying to pull start it, but no success. Popped a few times but thats it. Fuel system seems OK. Tried using ether to get it going but that didn't work.

Question: Could the shearing of the key cause the engine to go out of timing? Would that be the reason why it is not starting? I figured the points have to be OK if I got spark...but if it sparks at the wrong time it won't run. Right? Any suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-29-13, 11:29 AM
Group Moderator
The key sets the timing to be in time by positioning the flywheel on the proper spot on the crankshaft so that it is in time with the opening of the points. The only way to get a small engine out of time is to move the position of the camshaft, which is impossible.

If you have a crisp blue spark that will jump a decent sized gap, then you have good spark. If the spark is weak, that's usually poor connection at the points or a weak condenser. Neither is "easily" accessible on a Tecumseh.