Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Echo SRM 230 Trimmer


jsouth's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 205
TX

01-06-14, 09:38 AM   #1  
Echo SRM 230 Trimmer

This trimmer lacks power.I have overhaul the carb,took the muffler off and clean the spark arrester and the exhaust port.The trimmer runs fine at idle and medium speed.At top in the power head vibrates from side to side.The compression is 120#it has some scoring on the piston side of the exhaust port.The carb. is a zama RB Carb.I put in a Zama GND 52 carb. kit.I took the muffler off and top speed stayed the same.I have not yet changed the fuel lines or the fuel filter.I thought the trimmer line might be to long ,so I cut the lines shorter no change the trimmer head still vibrates at top speed,and still won,t run full power.I appreciate your feed back.

Thanks,
Jerry

 
Sponsored Links
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,567
GA

01-06-14, 09:44 AM   #2  
Try with the shaft removed and see if the engine runs differently.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
jsouth's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 205
TX

01-08-14, 11:29 AM   #3  
Thanks, Cheese for the info.The weather has been to cold to work on it.I will report back later.

Jerry

 
jsouth's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 205
TX

01-10-14, 03:46 PM   #4  
Cheese I remove the shaft no change.I also put the carb. on another echo trimmer,thinking it might be the carb.that trimmer ran fine.I also change the fuel lines and filter,did not change,the trimmer still won;t run at top speed.I ran out of ideas.

thanks,
Jerry

 
geogrubb's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,333
MO

01-10-14, 04:25 PM   #5  
Check that the throttle cable hasn't slipped and is not opening the carb to full throttle, had that happen on a Stihl FS85 drove me nuts for a while. Have a good one. Geo

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,567
GA

01-10-14, 05:29 PM   #6  
If you don't find a problem with the throttle control, I'd say you've pretty well isolated it to the engine itself and it's damaged cylinder/poor compression.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
jsouth's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 205
TX

01-11-14, 11:24 AM   #7  
I disconnected the throttle,cable from the engine and turn the throttle up all the way with my finger no change.I agree with you cheese,I believe it is in the engine too.Thanks cheese and geogrubb.The customer didn't want to spend any more time or money.

Jerry

 
Search this Thread