Echo SRM 230 Trimmer

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-14, 09:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 205
Echo SRM 230 Trimmer

This trimmer lacks power.I have overhaul the carb,took the muffler off and clean the spark arrester and the exhaust port.The trimmer runs fine at idle and medium speed.At top in the power head vibrates from side to side.The compression is 120#it has some scoring on the piston side of the exhaust port.The carb. is a zama RB Carb.I put in a Zama GND 52 carb. kit.I took the muffler off and top speed stayed the same.I have not yet changed the fuel lines or the fuel filter.I thought the trimmer line might be to long ,so I cut the lines shorter no change the trimmer head still vibrates at top speed,and still won,t run full power.I appreciate your feed back.

Thanks,
Jerry
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-14, 09:44 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Try with the shaft removed and see if the engine runs differently.
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-14, 11:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 205
Thanks, Cheese for the info.The weather has been to cold to work on it.I will report back later.

Jerry
 
  #4  
Old 01-10-14, 03:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 205
Cheese I remove the shaft no change.I also put the carb. on another echo trimmer,thinking it might be the carb.that trimmer ran fine.I also change the fuel lines and filter,did not change,the trimmer still won;t run at top speed.I ran out of ideas.

thanks,
Jerry
 
  #5  
Old 01-10-14, 04:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Check that the throttle cable hasn't slipped and is not opening the carb to full throttle, had that happen on a Stihl FS85 drove me nuts for a while. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #6  
Old 01-10-14, 05:29 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
If you don't find a problem with the throttle control, I'd say you've pretty well isolated it to the engine itself and it's damaged cylinder/poor compression.
 
  #7  
Old 01-11-14, 11:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 205
I disconnected the throttle,cable from the engine and turn the throttle up all the way with my finger no change.I agree with you cheese,I believe it is in the engine too.Thanks cheese and geogrubb.The customer didn't want to spend any more time or money.

Jerry
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes