Craftsman Rear Tine Tiller - grinding noise when pushing in neutral

Old 01-28-14, 10:40 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Craftsman Rear Tine Tiller - grinding noise when pushing in neutral

Last year, I purchased a used Craftsman rear tine tiller - 6hp, 14" tine - Model# 917.296020. Tilled a couple of times with no problems. I recently pulled it out of storage shed (after several months of idle) and noticed that there was loud grinding sound when I pushed/pulled it while in neutral (motor not running). I thought maybe needed transmission grease (not sure). Not being an engine expert, I need help with identifying oil fills/drains, as per attached photos. First photo is front view; 2nd is view from rear.

Also, any help on resolving grinding sound would be appreciated.
Thanks for your help

Name:  Tiller Front View.jpg
Views: 3815
Size:  40.6 KBName:  Tiller Rear View.jpg
Views: 3134
Size:  37.4 KB

Old 01-28-14, 11:29 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
The points you are showing are for the engine oil lubrication and does not have anything to do with the transmission. There is a right hand grease fitting on the transmission that you will insert grease into seasonally. It is not showing on your engine pix, but is down on the transmission.

Old 01-28-14, 02:14 PM
R
Thank you Chandler. Guess I am a little confused. Are there three separate engine oil fill points that one has to maintain? Also, any idea what could be causing the loud grinding sound?

Thanks again

Old 01-28-14, 03:39 PM