Chore Master pressure Washer - no water flow

Old 05-20-14, 06:07 AM
J
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Chore Master pressure Washer - no water flow

I have a Chore Master CM-2403 Pressure Washer. It has a heavy axial pump on it. It has B&S horizontal 5.5 hp engine. With the engine off there is little if any water coming out of the pump. The inlet screen is not clogged. I have the pressure hose disconnected. If I connect the hose and run the engine until it chugs, some water will come out at some pressure. I had the pump off and disassembled it. The pistons and piston valves look ok. I suspect either inlet or outlet valves may be the problem although I do not know exactly how they are supposed to work. The unloader valve is always suspect however I didn't think that would affect the water flow when the engine was off. I have removed the unloader valve several times and cleaned it and lubed it. The unloader valve is made up of a few individual parts. The unit is made by Mi T M. There website has a breakdown of the pump parts. Thanks in advance.

Old 05-20-14, 07:45 AM
J
Sorry guys - Behind the Inlet where the garden hose connects is another inlet piece with a heavy mesh screen. It was clogged with rust. I removed and cleaned it and now the pressure washer works like new. I had always shied away from fixing pressure washers in the past. I would tell customers that I don't know how to fix the pump. Although I am far from being an expert, I feel a lot more confident to try and fix them. In the worst case scenario, I got my pump all cleaned, lubed and fresh oil. I have always used B&S pump saver in it. This is the first time I had an issue with it.

Old 05-22-14, 04:13 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
hi all, I'm new to the form. I'm craig

If I can figure out how to do this , it just might be fun.