Primer bulb for Craftsman blower.

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-20-14, 03:02 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,979
Primer bulb for Craftsman blower.

Ok, this is crazy. Have an older Craftsman blower/vac 358.797300, worked fine til I went to use it earlier this year and the primer bulb is cracked.

Finally got around to looking for a replacement part...and Sears lists almost nothing for the carb. A diaphragm, limiter caps and the whole carb...thats it. Why would I buy a new carb (not that it couldn't use it probably) to replace a $.50 rubber bulb? And of course I'll need a new gasket when I pull the bowl (?) to replace the bulb. Also not available.

Can't find the exact model at ereplacement parts but one that's close doesn't list it either
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-20-14, 03:08 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,979
Well, did a little searching on the Sears Parts Q&A area....and even their "Expert" says you have to buy a new carb. Ridiculous!

Anyone know who made this model so I can at least check the manufacturers site if I can cross reference it.
 
  #3  
Old 05-20-14, 03:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,408
I think Craftsman Machines with a prefix of 358 in the Model Number were all made by Poulan.
 
  #4  
Old 05-20-14, 03:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 468
Zama part number 0057025 after market 49-028
 
  #5  
Old 05-20-14, 04:14 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,979
Excellent AJ!! TY! Can you give me any info on the gasket I'll need?

Or if you can just tell me the carb number I can do the research.

I see C10 and W11A 17A on the sides.
 
  #6  
Old 05-20-14, 06:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 468
You don't need a gasket to replace the primer. If you need to rebuild carb full kit RB-47 GASKETS ONLY GND-18

AJ
 
  #7  
Old 05-20-14, 06:56 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,979
Very cool! I guess the primer itself is the gasket? Haven't taken it down that far.

I can probably get the primer at a local engine shop, now that I know what I need.

Thanks again.
 
  #8  
Old 05-20-14, 10:00 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
Yep, the primer seals itself, it has a rim that squeezes between the mounting areas. Two screws and it's a done deal!
 
  #9  
Old 04-04-15, 11:13 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,979
Ok, I'm back to this old project. Finally included the parts I needed in an Amazon order with some other stuff and after waiting 4 weeks for the carb kit from China (hey, it was the cheapest listing, what did I know or care about how long it would take?) I finally broke down the blower.

The kit has a lot of stuff that I don't see a place for on my carb. A big and small plunger for the needle valve (looks like the small is correct), some press in aluminum plugs that don't seem to have any matches, I think an extra gasket. Is this common? Extra parts to cover all variations?

Also, should I really try to use the new filter screen? First it looks way too big and second, the old one is plenty clean.

Finally, will I need to adjust the mixture and if so whats the best method?
 
  #10  
Old 04-04-15, 11:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 419
Not uncommon at all to have extra parts in the kit, yes it is to cover several models of carbs. A lot of kits come that way. Use what ever screen will fit. Adjusting the carb. may be needed and I think you can find that info. on you-tube. Myself I always thought of those blowers as disposable since they are not only pricy for parts and a pain to get running right it's just cheaper to replace the whole thing.
 
  #11  
Old 04-04-15, 12:05 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,979
Ok thanks. The carb re-build kit was only about $4.50, so that wasn't a big deal. It started and ran fine right up til the primer bulb got old and cracked, so that's really the only issue (I hope). I bought the kit since it was same price as just the bulb with free shipping. If it had been something mechanical or electrical in the engine, I'd have tossed it long ago.

Still can't figure how they can mail something from China that cost so little and make a profit. Prob $2 just for postage.
 
  #12  
Old 04-04-15, 12:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,408
Originally Posted by GunGuy45
". . . If it had been something mechanical or electrical in the engine, I'd have tossed it long ago . . ."
Around here, it's getting so expensive to dispose of old equipment that we're incentivized to devote the extra effort to keeping them alive longer . . . . maybe even well maintained and tuned.

After getting into the habit of doing that, I've found it to be both a challenge AND a new found pleasure.

And I have found that some of these units, when treated like good valuable machinery, they actually behave like it.
 
  #13  
Old 04-04-15, 01:29 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,979
Well, it is about 15-17 y/o...so I'd say it's done ok, even if I do wind up tossing it eventually. I mean, it was a $120 Sears vac and blow that got plenty of use when I had trees and leaves. What I can see of the cylinder and the piston through the intake look good. Using the right mix and doing even minimal maintenance makes a difference I guess.
 
  #14  
Old 04-04-15, 06:11 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,979
Well, I must have done something right. Rebuilt the carb, cleaned everything up, new plug and fresh gas, 10 pumps to prime, and it burped on the first pull. 1/2 choke and a step down on the speed and she fired right up. May not even have to do any adjustments as she idles fine and accelerates when I kick it up.

Does seem to vibrate more than I remember, but that could be because I'm used to an electric.

Should I worry about scraping carbon out of the muffler? No mention in the manual I found online.
 
  #15  
Old 04-04-15, 06:30 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
I wouldn't worry about the carbon I think. A blower runs full speed when its running usually, so it should keep the carbon cooked out if your mixture is right. Good job getting it going again!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes