Briggs 31P777 0293 Ei Backfiring

Old 05-23-14, 10:30 AM
Question Briggs 31P777 0293 Ei Backfiring

I have a Yard Man Rider mower with the 18.5 HP OHV engine that won't start. When I try to start it sounds like the timing is off & pops back through the carb. I have adjusted the valves. Pulled the head & cleaned & reseated the valves. Tried different coils. Cleaned & went through the carb. Replaced the flywheel key. Adjusted the valves 3 or 4 times. I'm fairly new to working on mower engines but worked on cars & truck for 40 + years. Has me confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank

I'm a newbe to the group. I retired after owning & working my Auto Repair shop for 38 years. Got bored after a year or so & started working on Riding mowers last year. Married to my girlfriend for almost 46 years. Have 1 son who's in his 40s. We live in Sunny Western New York.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-23-14, 09:27 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Have you tried a new plug? Sounds like you've done everything else that would possibly cause your problem. If it's an NGK plug, take it out and put a champion or autolite in.

Old 05-24-14, 08:38 AM
Forgot to put that in the list. I did try 2 new plugs. Could the wrong magnetron cause it to pop back through the carb? Once in a while it attempts to start at real low throttle position. It will try to run a little then it pops back though the carb again. Oh I only use Champion plugs in all my engines. I've been told it's an internal problem but I can't figure out what could be wrong inside. I don't think the cam gear could spin on the cam shaft but that is the only thing I think could cause it to act like it does.

Old 05-24-14, 06:32 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
What happened prior to this? Was it all working fine and one day you went to start it and this is what happened? How far do the valves open and close? It sounds a lot like it could have a wiped out cam lobe.

Last edited by cheese; 05-25-14 at 08:24 PM.
Old 05-25-14, 11:06 AM