Pressure Washer Problem

Old 05-28-14, 07:50 AM
Pressure Washer Problem

Hey guys!

My pressure washer last week took a dump on me so now Im In the market for another one. I see that Home Depot has the Dewalt pressure washer for $599. (DEWALT Honda GX200 3400-PSI 2.5-GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DXPW3425 at The Home Depot)

And they also have this one (DEWALT Honda GX270 3800-PSI 3.5-GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DXPW3835 at The Home Depot)

The second one has a bigger engine, higher PSI pump, offers more GPM, longer hose and is $200 more.. I think these extras are worth the $200. But Im a newbie and open to suggestions and advise
I plan to use the pressure washer and do side jobs every now and then cleaning houses, driveways etc. Maybe do a few houses a month.
After reading about how more GPM greatly affects the cleaning, I am leaning more towards the Dewalt 3835 model. The 3425 model has 8500 Cleaning Units. The 3835 model has 13300 Cleaning Units. That's a HUGE difference. I also see that the 3835 model has a "adjustable unloader" Does this mean I can adjust the pressure downwards if I want too? I understand I cant go above the 3800PSI mark without damaging the pump, but being able to go lower will be great!
Also, if the pressure is adjusted downwards, do you loose the GPM rate that the pump puts out?
The reason I would want to lower the PSI is because I have a EZ Clean surface cleaner that is rated at MAX 3300 PSI/ 3GPM. Yes, I know they are frowned upon. But it has worked well for me and I like it
If the pressure is NOT adjustable, would I be better off going with the 3425 model and using my EZ Clean Surface cleaner, OR getting the 3835 model and then shelling out some extra $$ and getting a real Surface Cleaner for a few hundred bucks?