Mower keeps running


  #1  
Old 06-01-14, 04:30 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mower keeps running

Toro GTS 6.75hp 22 rear drive
Model 20031
Serial No. 240031001

I was mowing last year and the cable on the right hand side, as you stand behind the mower, caught on a nail. Now when you release the handle lever the mower continues to run until you disconnect the spark plug. How hard is that to fix?
 
  #2  
Old 06-01-14, 05:28 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 15,949
Received 138 Upvotes on 127 Posts
Most likely the cable isn't able to pull back under spring tension from the mower. Look where the cable connects at the mower and see if you can help it return to the off position. If so, you probably just need a new cable. It's a simple thing to replace, 5 minutes maybe.
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-14, 07:49 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you I will take a look and upload a pic of what I see.
 
  #4  
Old 06-03-14, 07:44 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Attached are the pictures as promised. The cable seems to still be attached but in one of the pictures it is very slack - the one sort of down from the mower. I pulled the handle a couple of times so I sort of see what you mean about spring tension - cable is very loose with no resistance at all. Are the cables generic?
 
Attached Images   
  #5  
Old 06-03-14, 10:35 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 15,949
Received 138 Upvotes on 127 Posts
Sounds like you need a cable. They aren't generic. Yours will probably have a number stamped in the sheath you can use to find a replacement.
 
  #6  
Old 06-03-14, 10:56 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,602
Received 821 Upvotes on 720 Posts
Are there any adjustments on the cable ?? Seems like I adjusted one once but it's been too long for me to remember any details If there wasn't a place to make an adjustment maybe I bent something to make it engage like it's suppose to.
 
  #7  
Old 06-03-14, 01:03 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
From what I remember seeing the cable went straight from that bottom connection right into the handle with nothing to adjust. I will take a closer look tonight - I might have overlooked something.
 
  #8  
Old 06-03-14, 04:27 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Took a closer look at cord. Nothing on cord to adjust. Noticed when the handle is depressed the mechanism goes down toward the floor but when the handle is released it stays in that position. I would think it should spring back. Am I correct?
 
  #9  
Old 06-03-14, 04:52 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,602
Received 821 Upvotes on 720 Posts
As Cheese stated, replacement of the cable is the correct fix but you might be able to bend or massage what you have to get it working again.
 
  #10  
Old 06-03-14, 04:52 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 15,949
Received 138 Upvotes on 127 Posts
Yes it should come back. If the cable is damaged, it may not return properly.
 
  #11  
Old 06-03-14, 06:21 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you found the part number so I'll just change it. Thank you both for taking time to help me with this. It was easier not to have to start it every time I stopped but I know it's not safe.
 
  #12  
Old 06-05-14, 10:06 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Going to buy the cable this weekend and change it but I have another question.

When pressing the kill switch on the mower with my hand, it goes down towards the floor, when I release it it stays in the same position shouldn't it spring back?
 
  #13  
Old 06-05-14, 11:02 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 15,949
Received 138 Upvotes on 127 Posts
Is the cable still connected to it?
 
  #14  
Old 06-05-14, 01:20 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, the cable is still attached but slack. Here is a picture of what I'm seeing - first and third picture. I was looking at parts on the internet for my model and saw this part (picture 2) with a spring and wondered if its the same part as the one on my mower.
 
Attached Images    
  #15  
Old 06-05-14, 11:41 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 15,949
Received 138 Upvotes on 127 Posts
Disconnect the cable from it and see if it has spring tension that pulls it back. If not, then the spring may be broken or unhooked. If it does, then the cable is the problem. It would be uncommon but not impossible for the spring to be the problem.
 
  #16  
Old 06-07-14, 07:19 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Took the cable off and there is no spring that i could see or spring tension. The mechanism stays in whatever position you move it to without springing back.
 
  #17  
Old 06-07-14, 10:37 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 15,949
Received 138 Upvotes on 127 Posts
Okay then, apparently the spring is broken/missing. I don't know that I ever saw one do that before. You might be able to pick up a spring at a lawn mower shop, or use a generic spring from a hardware store to make it return. Just make sure it is strong enough to pull it back firmly with the cable attached.
 
  #18  
Old 06-11-14, 12:34 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indy
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Would it be possible for someone to post a pic of a Toro 20031 in the area where the spring should be so I can see where to connect it? Please and thank you.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: