Honda Harmony Mower-Self propel is WEAK

Old 06-01-14, 10:24 PM
Honda Harmony Mower-Self propel is WEAK

I have a 1995 Honda Harmony 215 that I bought a year or so back, oldie but a goodie. Worked great last season, but this season I noticed that the self propel is very weak. Both speeds still work (Low and High), and it engaged and disengages fine, but it just seems a lot slower than it used to be, and if I hold the handle and try to stop the machine there is little resistance to keep moving forward.

I flipped it on its side and can see that the cables to the transmission all seem to function as they should. I can also see that the belt is connected, but couldn't tell if it was loose or not. If I manually spin the wheels it makes that ratcheting sound as well.

I'm completely new to Honda mowers, what is my first step to diagnose?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-01-14, 11:18 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
I think I would start with finding out if the belt is in good shape and tight.

Old 06-01-14, 11:28 PM
Any tips on how loose/tight the belt should be? Think the belt is slipping? How difficult is it to replace a belt if that is the cause?

Old 06-02-14, 08:50 AM
So I went out to check out the belt, visually it looks fine. Tension wise it feels tight, but not super tight and maybe had just a tiny bit of play in it if I pushed on it. How tight does the belt need to be?

Is it common to need a belt after almost 20 years of use, i'm guessing yes ? I've only owned it for one year so I have no clue how much its been used but I'm guessing a decent amount, but its in great shape and seems to be maintained so the belt may be a replacement already.

Old 06-02-14, 09:30 AM
Admin Emeritus
Hello: handyfrank

Alternate possible causes.

Might not the belt. Engine speed is a factor. Is the engine running as fast as it use to? Realize you do not have a small engine tachometer but does engine sound like it is at the same running speed as it use to be?