Tri-Fuel Conversion: Hose and Regulator Size

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-01-14, 11:11 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Tri-Fuel Conversion: Hose and Regulator Size

I just ordered a tri-fuel kit for my Generac 7550EXL generator. What I need to know is what diameter hose do I need (planning on 10'), and how many btu's per hour do I need to supply to the unit so I can get the regulator and hose awhile.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-01-14, 11:22 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,288
Kit that I looked at had the regulators included. Also showed 3/4" dia. hose for your setup.
 
  #3  
Old 07-01-14, 04:58 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546

Kit that I looked at had the regulators included. Also showed 3/4" dia. hose for your setup.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]34029[/ATTACH] I'd hope I don't need a hose that thick, that'll probably cost a fortune. Anyway, here's the kit I bought. It takes in 11'' W.C. (what's standard for most LP appliances)
Briggs Generac GN410 Propane Generator Tri Fuel Conversion Kit Gas Generators | eBay
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 07-01-14, 05:05 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
You need to know the HP of the motor. I have not had time to look up what you have , but I think its 10k btu per HP...

For reference 1/2 inch @ 10 ft with a .622 ID will supply 175k btu...
 
  #5  
Old 07-01-14, 05:10 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Oh that below is for NG, What do you plan to run it on?
 
  #6  
Old 07-01-14, 05:19 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Hmm says its 14hp.... thats 140k but... Wow what are you using that to power? 13,000 watts..

Your going to eat a lot of fuel.

I ran all of sandy 9 days on my modified 4050 watt gen. 12 gallons of fuel used...

( Modified meaning I rewired it for 120volt only as I have no 240 loads. I get full amps now at 120volts... No more trying to balance the loads/windings)
 
  #7  
Old 07-01-14, 05:24 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Think I looked up the wrong one... Its 7550 watts? Is this the panel? I think its 13k watts surge?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]34030[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 07-01-14, 05:28 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
It is a 15 HP OHVI engine with pressure lube and electric start. 7.55KW running, 13.5KW surge. I plan on using propane and gasoline.

Yup, Mike. That's what it looked like when I got it.
 
  #9  
Old 07-01-14, 05:43 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
You running flex hose or copper? How big a propane tank you have? What are you planing on powering with this gen?

For your camp outings?
 
  #10  
Old 07-01-14, 05:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,086
That a pretty optimistic surge rating for a 7.5K generator.
Don't forget on propane you won't get your full rating.
 
  #11  
Old 07-01-14, 05:57 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I plan on using a 10' flexible rubber hose. Right now I have a 40# but I'd like to get some 100# universal fill tanks. I plan on using this for power tools, lights, PA system, crock pots, 6kw deep fryer, etc. (Not all at the same time of course)

I use this on jobsites, cookouts, outings, and the like. It's something I got for both work and play.
 
  #12  
Old 07-01-14, 06:10 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546

That a pretty optimistic surge rating for a 7.5K generator.
Don't forget on propane you won't get your full rating.
I bought this based on my 4000EXL. I've run that thing well past the rated load quite a few times. Considering how I never got this one to even bog down yet, I'd say the power loss won't hurt me much.
 
  #13  
Old 07-01-14, 07:30 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
If a gen has a 7550k rating and a 13k surge, then that is a good head unit.... The problem is a 15hp motor is a gas gussler...
 
  #14  
Old 07-01-14, 08:51 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
If a gen has a 7550k rating and a 13k surge, then that is a good head unit.... The problem is a 15hp motor is a gas gussler...
Oh yes, it loves its gas. That's one of the reasons I want to do the LPG conversion.
 
  #15  
Old 07-01-14, 09:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,086
If it loves gas.......... it's gonna REALLY like propane.
 
  #16  
Old 07-01-14, 09:13 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546

If it loves gas.......... it's gonna REALLY like propane.

That's alright, this time of year it's 1/3 the price of gasoline.
 
  #17  
Old 07-01-14, 09:33 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Are you doing any 240v loads? If not you better off moding you 4k gen for 120v only. Youll get full 30 amps... Use less gas...etc...

Going about it wrong IMO... I know you spent money on the conversion and all..
 
  #18  
Old 07-01-14, 09:45 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
If you have 4 wires from the head you can do it easy.


[IMG][/IMG]
 
  #19  
Old 07-01-14, 09:49 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Here is my gen stock

[IMG][/IMG]

Here is my mod..

[IMG][/IMG]
 
  #20  
Old 07-01-14, 10:45 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Mike, I usually don't have any always 240V loads other than the fryer and some 1500W quartz lights. Everything else has either a switch, or is auto-sensing. (I run my speakers and amplifiers on 240V when I can) However, one awesome feature of the 4000 EXL is it has both a 15A 120/240V receptacle on a 15A 2-pole breaker, and a 30A 120V receptacle on a 30A breaker, which can be used simultaneously. Add in the idle control feature, and you have a unit that's great on fuel. I'd like to tri-fuel that one later down the road, or get an inverter unit. But for now I'm going to get the 7550 taken care of, that's what gets the most use this time of year.
 
  #21  
Old 07-02-14, 05:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
I would recommend nothing less than a 160,000 BTU/hr. regulator. As long as the low pressure hose is no more than 10 feet long and does NOT have quick connects the 3/8 inch ID should be okay. If you want to go longer than 10 feet then you will need to upsize to at least 1/2 inch.

This company has all the parts you need. Low Pressure Propane Regulators, Twin Stage Regulators, Dual Stage Regulators

Whether or not you will experience a lower maximum output on the generator will depend upon several factors. My Yamaha EF3000ise has full output (3,000 watts) on natural gas although it is not a tri-fuel arrangement but gaseous fuels only.
 
  #22  
Old 07-02-14, 09:36 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Well, the kit came in the mail, and I got a 160K dual-stage regulator from Tractor Supply. Now to get thing installed and find a hose.
 
  #23  
Old 07-03-14, 07:51 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Well I got the regulator installed on the generator, then it decided it wanted to thunderstorm. Tomorrow is the 4th, Saturday I have a party to DJ, then Sunday I'm white water rafting, so who knows when I'll get back to it.
 
  #24  
Old 07-03-14, 09:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,086
There's always Monday Happy 4th buddy
 
  #25  
Old 07-04-14, 09:18 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546

There's always Monday Happy 4th buddy
Yes there is! Happy 4th!
 
  #26  
Old 07-07-14, 09:01 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Well I got the conversion done today, except I didn't get a hose yet so I'm still using gasoline until I get a hose. Here's some pictures:


The only issue here is the choke lever is too short. Any ideas on extending it?


My new starting system. The blue light is on when the key is on. The bulb is removable. I also added the 12V socket so I can use a phone charger without starting the generator. If the battery goes dead it can still be pull started if I pull the right connector on the engine block.


This reading was with a little under an 80% load.
 
  #27  
Old 07-07-14, 10:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,086
Nice job..... looks good. Like the cigar lighter port too.
 
  #28  
Old 07-08-14, 08:34 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Thanks, PJ! I figured that port may come in handy, rather than starting the generator for a real light load.
 
  #29  
Old 07-12-14, 01:24 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Quick question, would there be anything wrong with mounting the dual stage regulator on the generator, and feeding high pressure propane right to the dual stage regulator? That way I can use a much smaller hose.
 
  #30  
Old 07-12-14, 11:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Nothing wrong but you need a high pressure hose listed for propane or LP gas.
 
  #31  
Old 07-13-14, 12:43 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Thanks, Furd! I'll post back how it goes.
 
  #32  
Old 07-13-14, 03:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
I'll definitely want to see some load figures on the completed set up. Those auxiliary venturis are often the cause of lesser output on gaseous fuels since they limit the amount of air through the carburetor.
 
  #33  
Old 07-15-14, 05:38 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I got everything running on propane. The only down side is I couldn't find a short flexible hose rated for 160K btu's, so I have the 2-stage regulator hanging off the zero pressure regulator until I figure something else out.


This is the generator running at 110% load. I'd say it's doing pretty well. The only issue was the generator head was too hot to hold my hand on, which I'd say is a bad thing. Since I have no intentions to run that much load other than for testing I'd say everything seems good.
 
  #34  
Old 07-15-14, 05:58 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
May want to turn the governor up so unloaded your at 62 hz. This way loaded it should not bring you below 58hz...

But then again your not running sensitive things right?

As a plumber your going to wipe those joints right??
 
  #35  
Old 07-15-14, 07:36 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546

May want to turn the governor up so unloaded your at 62 hz. This way loaded it should not bring you below 58hz...

This picture was taken at overload. Even at 80% load it remains at 60.2Hz.

But then again your not running sensitive things right?
Everything I have that's electronic has a switching power supply, the only thing I would be even slightly concerned about is my Sabine GraphiQ.

As a plumber your going to wipe those joints right??
I will, just for you. What works best to wipe the joints?
 
  #36  
Old 07-15-14, 07:39 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
I will, just for you. What works best to wipe the joints?
A rag...LOL.. Is that all teflon paste or some type of pipe dope?
 
  #37  
Old 07-15-14, 07:40 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
so I have the 2-stage regulator hanging off the zero pressure regulator until I figure something else out.
Whats wrong with the regulator being there?
 
  #38  
Old 07-15-14, 08:02 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
A rag...LOL.. Is that all teflon paste or some type of pipe dope?
Pipe dope.

Whats wrong with the regulator being there?
I can see something getting caught on it. The zero pressure regulator is staying there, I have it bolted down good. The two-stage regulator needs to go somewhere else, though.
 
  #39  
Old 07-15-14, 08:16 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
The two-stage regulator needs to go somewhere else, though.
Run a short hose and mount it down on the frame somewhere. I would rather have it on the gen somewhere. Like down by the wheel kit on the cross member...
 
  #40  
Old 07-15-14, 08:21 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Run a short hose and mount it down on the frame somewhere. I would rather have it on the gen somewhere. Like down by the wheel kit on the cross member...
That's where I was thinking, too. I'll probably put it near somewhere that has warm air blowing in it, because the regulator had ice on it by the time I was done my testing. What hose would you recommend? I was looking at water heater flex hoses, but they seem to have a maximum BTU rating.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes