Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

20HP B&S mower problems!

IN

07-31-14, 08:46 PM   #1  
20HP B&S mower problems!

Hi Everyone -- Newbie here, but willing to learn. I'm having trouble starting my B&S riding mower. It's an older "Lawn General" with a 20 hp B&S twin II engine, model 460777, type 2277 E1. I bought it used 2 years ago. I think there are a few issues going on here, so I'll walk through all the things that I'm worried about.

The problem now is that I can't start it -- I can't spin the flywheel fast enough. I get a small bit of movement, and then rapid clicking sounds.

I was definitely running on low oil (I know, I know -- I didn't check it before taking it out -- lesson learned), mower worked fine for about 45 minutes, and then when I idled down for a second, it stalled and wouldn't start up again. This actually always happens (i.e., won't start immediately after I shut it off), so I just push it back to the garage and wait for it to cool off before trying to start it. This time, however, it only clicked the next day -- not even close to starting. I tried to spin the flywheel by hand and it wouldn't budge. Sprayed some PBblaster thru the spark plug holes, and let it sit for 2 days. Then, got a wrench around the flywheel nut, and it eventually started to turn. Now it turns by hand (but not sure if there's more resistance than there should be). Also, it seems to be about the same amount of resistance regardless of whether or not there's a sparkplug in or not. It'll turn with one hand, whereas before I just couldn't move it at all. No weird metal sounds or anything. Don't know what I'm doing, but took off the heads, and can see the pistons and valves moving, and no bits of metal. I've changed the oil -- it was pretty black, but didn't see any metal flakes or anything.