Loose wire on Fradan walk behind leaf blower


  #1  
Old 08-29-14, 12:10 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 644
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Loose wire on Fradan walk behind leaf blower

Does anyone know what this wire is for or where the other end might be? I just bought this unit used (and it runs great), but I can't figure out why there's a loose wire.

I checked their website (http://www.fradanpower.com/PDFs/PB5....ed%20Views.pdf) and couldn't find any mention of these wires.

Thanks!

Name:  fradan.jpg
Views: 640
Size:  40.4 KB
 
  #2  
Old 08-29-14, 02:08 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,161
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Does the kill switch work. do not know if machine has one or not.
 
  #3  
Old 08-29-14, 05:19 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,007
Received 146 Upvotes on 135 Posts
Knowing what it is would help... What engine is on it?
 
  #4  
Old 08-29-14, 06:23 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 644
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
It's a Briggs & Stratton. Not sure about a kill switch. I'll grab some better pics this weekend.
 
  #5  
Old 09-02-14, 10:21 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 644
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Here are some more pics. I still can't figure out what model I have... I checked against the Fradan site and have no idea what I have. It's 8HP and Briggs (309cc), but nothing matches what I found on page 4 of this: http://www.fradanpower.com/PDFs/Clas...ner-Manual.pdf

Name:  briggs1.jpg
Views: 455
Size:  38.3 KBName:  briggs2.jpg
Views: 470
Size:  33.5 KBName:  2014-08-10 16.03.46.jpg - Picasa Photo Viewer.jpg
Views: 402
Size:  30.7 KBName:  fradan1.jpg
Views: 352
Size:  29.0 KBName:  briggs4.jpg
Views: 443
Size:  43.5 KB
 
  #6  
Old 09-02-14, 05:05 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,007
Received 146 Upvotes on 135 Posts
That engine model and type number shows it to be an electric start model and that would be the alternator wire. It should go to a voltage regulator if the electric start is used in this application. If not, leave it hanging there like it is.
 
  #7  
Old 09-02-14, 08:08 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 644
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Hmm. Didn't realize it had an electric start (I only used the pull start). So it's ok to just leave it hanging?

Also, can anyone figure out what model Fradan this is?

Thanks again!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: