Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Mantis tiller- carb won't prime

GA

10-27-14, 10:24 AM   #1  
Mantis tiller- carb won't prime

Hi,

I have a Mantis tiller with a Zama C1U-K54 carb. The tiller runs great once started, and will run for as long as needed at both idle and high speed. However, the primer bulb does not pull fuel from the tank or fill up the primer bulb when depressed.

I have replaced the primer bulb, and checked the fuel lines, and there appear to be no holes or leaks there. I believe this may be the tell- when I hold my finger over the end of the purge fuel line that normally expels the fuel from the primer bulb into the fuel tank, the primer bulb will then fill up. I'm not a carb expert at all, but I'm guessing this means that maybe the outlet check valve is bad, and is preventing the vacuum necessary to draw fuel from the tank through the inlet check valve? When I put my finger over the hose end, I'm acting as a manual check valve?

Also, the purge line is very short, and just barely protrudes through the fuel line grommet of the tank, and into the tank. Therefore, it normally just empties out into air, and is not submerged in fuel. I did not modify this, so I'm guessing this is normal and should not normally cause a problem?

Am I correct in my diagnosis, and if so, can this check valve be bought separately, or is it necessary to buy an entire new primer base?

Thanks for any help and insight anyone can offer, and if anyone has a good, cheap source for the necessary parts to repair, it would also be much appreciated!

Sponsored Links

IA

10-27-14, 10:50 AM   #2  
I'd say you pretty well have it figured out. Take the primer assembly off and run the inlet line into fuel and see if it works off the machine. You may have a bad primer check valve. The fuel emptying into air wouldn't make any difference.