Troubleshooting a weed wacker

Old 09-18-15, 10:36 AM
Troubleshooting a weed wacker

Hi All,

A few years ago, my dad bought a 28 cc yardworks gas powered string trimmer from some store that was going out of business. He put gas in it and never managed to start it. Because he has money and had paid almost nothing for it, he just left it to die and bought a new one.

Skip to now, he handed it to me and said "if you can fix it, it's yours, I don't want to bother with it"

This is a plain old 1 piston small engine with a carburetor. It's two stroke. I used to work as a go-kart mechanic, so I know a bit about small engines, but they were four stroke, and I never worked on an engine that sat with old gas for two years.

I apologize for the long and useless back story (lol), but I would be really happy if you guys can help me get this thing started (or determine that it's not worth it and toss it).

Would anyone kindly tell me where to start/what to do? I've taken carbs apart before on my motorcycle and on go-karts, and I think I am going to be fine with the mechanical aspect of things (I know what everything is called and how to take them apart), but I would really appreciate guidance from more experienced people pointing me towards where to start, how to test things, so on and so forth.

I don't know how much this helps, but I've attached pictures so that you guys can have a look.

Thanks in advance!
Nic

Name:  DSC_0240.jpg
Views: 341
Size:  19.7 KB
Name:  DSC_0241.jpg
Views: 304
Size:  21.0 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 09-18-15, 12:27 PM
Before you take everything apart, just change the gas/oil mix with fresh stuff. Then pump the primer about five times, then full choke, half throttle, try starting it. It may surprise you and take off.

Old 09-18-15, 02:30 PM
Fuel Lines

If the above advice gets no results, check the fuel lines. The fuel lines likely need to be replaced.

Old 09-18-15, 04:10 PM