Pressure washer starts but cuts out


  #1  
Old 10-19-15, 10:46 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pressure washer starts but cuts out

This is a Ryobi 3100 with Honda GVC190 engine. We use it a couple of times a year and probably don't store it correctly.

When we pull the cord, it will start but only run for about a second before cutting out. At that point, the cord is locked and we can't do anything.

We've changed the spark plug but that's about it. We did drain the gas but we put 'fresh' gas in from a can we'd had for probably a year.

What should be our next steps?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-19-15, 10:51 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,602
Received 821 Upvotes on 720 Posts
Have you tried pulling the trigger while you are starting it?
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-15, 11:03 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Can't say I have - thanks for the suggestion. I'll give it a try
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-15, 01:25 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2,294
Upvotes: 0
Received 28 Upvotes on 27 Posts
First thing to do is drain that "fresh" gas out of it, it is no better than the gas that was in it and will do more harm than good. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-15, 08:18 PM
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 198
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I agree with Geo 100 percent. I was gonna mention to take the gas out and put some new gas in there.

Also pull the trigger on the wand to relieve the pressure.

After you get it running right the engine I mean. If your pressure on the pump doesn't build up DO NOT keep running the engine.

Check the unloader valve ~!~!
 
  #6  
Old 10-20-15, 09:04 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks geogrubb and BoudreauxEunice... when it warms up in a few days I'll get new gas and try again.

Not sure *what* to look for in the unloader valve but when this thing does start, it seems to run OK if that helps
 
  #7  
Old 10-20-15, 01:39 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,511
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If your unit has a pressure regulator, (which might be incorporated in the wand) make sure it is set to the lightest pressure setting.
 
  #8  
Old 10-20-15, 01:59 PM
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 198
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Look it up on google or you tube. Real easy to fix or replace ~!~! Hope this helps.
 
  #9  
Old 10-26-15, 07:11 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I went with the easiest thing first. Tried firing it up while pulling the trigger and it worked perfectly. Not sure if I should post a smiley image or a red-faced one at this point.

I wasn't certain what I'd do with the drained gas (if it came to that) so I just left the engine running until it cut out.

Since then I've tried it a couple more times and all is good.

Thank you all for the advice.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: