B & S engine moved from pump to a mini bike

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-07-15, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
B & S engine moved from pump to a mini bike

I have mounted a 5 hp Briggs, that came off a pacer pump, to a mini bike. The motor runs great but will not idle at all. I did not keep the governer. Do I need to replace the carburetor?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-07-15, 06:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Post the model number, type and code from the engine xxxxxx-xxxx-xx so we can look up the engine to see what carb it has. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-15, 12:17 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 592
Look at your carb. Some have a idle adjust screw to stop the butterfly from closing too far, If you don't have an idle adjust screw, you will have to shorten your throttle cable to accomplish the same thing. Once you have it idling, adjust the low speed idle jet for highest RPM (assumes the carb has this adjustable jet). If this increases the idle RPM considerably, you will have to readjust the idle adjust screw or lengthen the throttle cable. If this is a float type carb, you may be having problems because the carb is not remaining vertical as you ride the bike. Good luck.
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-15, 05:36 PM
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 243
I'm kind of curious on the govener part. The govener is part of the engine not the pump.

Yes we need the numbers but most all 5 hp briggs are the same. Horizontal shafts I mean.

No govener means blown up engine ~!~!
 
  #5  
Old 11-10-15, 04:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Model 094332
Type 0114 131
Code 970201YA
Thank you for any help.
I have experimented with the cable and idle adjustment a lot. No luck. When the cable goes to idle position, the engine shuts off like no fuel. I'm thinking maybe the carb is not meant to idle? I Know the pump never seemed to idle. It ran mid throttle. No govener = blown engine. We'll see.
 
  #6  
Old 11-10-15, 04:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Carb is in a good position. Have played with the cable/ idle adjustment a lot. I'm thinking either something's clogged or there is no idle jet.
 
  #7  
Old 11-10-15, 05:43 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
No govener means blown up engine ~!~!


The governor system is like a cruise control system. It maintains the speed of your lawn mower or outdoor power products. When Briggs & Stratton governors are adjusted properly, they keep your speed steady regardless of engine load - the amount of work the engine must perform.

When powering a lawn mower, engine load can be affected by hills or height of grass. For a tiller engine, load may depend on depth of the tines while a chipper’s load may be affected by the thickness of branches.
https://www.briggsandstratton.com/us...overnor-system

On a mini bike the action of the throttle replaces the action of the governor.
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-15, 03:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Anybody have any ideas if this carb is made to not idle? Is there such a thing as a carb not meant to idle? Thanks in advance.
 
  #9  
Old 11-20-15, 05:38 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,763
There are some engines that don't have a throttle and they just run wide open or off.

Have you disassembled and cleaned the carburetor? It is possible a jet or passage is clogged.
 
  #10  
Old 11-20-15, 05:42 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,728
It may not have a mixture setting for the idle which would be pretty common. The rest of it is the opening on the throttle plate. Is there a throttle stop to set the idle speed or was that part of the governor taken off?
 
  #11  
Old 11-20-15, 10:45 PM
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 243
Mars, Sorry to be so late on this. YES your engine has a governor. I looked in my manuals. Which I didn't need too.

Yes please take your carb apart and clean it out well Make sure to take the rubber valve seat out and then blow that out good also. Take your jets out and blow them out also. It might just need the bowl nut which is a jet cleaned out. When you take the bowl nut off look from side to side and on the top. There are holes that need to be cleaned.

A couple of pics would help also ~!~!
 
  #12  
Old 11-21-15, 05:52 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,763
Even though your engine had/has a governor you probably don't want to hook it up to your carburetor for best performance. With a governor in the loop you can get some funny throttle lag especially when going from a higher to lower throttle level.
 
  #13  
Old 11-21-15, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Thank you for the responce Pilot Dane. Govener is gone.
 
  #14  
Old 11-21-15, 11:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Thank you for your response Boudreaux. Govener has been removed. I will try to clean out the carb again. I didn't know the nut was a jet. I will report after.
 
  #15  
Old 11-21-15, 12:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
There is an idle stop Marbobj. I have experimented with it several times. Turn the idle up and the clutch grabs, down and the engine won't idle.
 
  #16  
Old 11-21-15, 05:45 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
The idle circuit is separate from the main venturi, you may be getting the idle stop high enough to step off the idle circuit and onto the main venturi. You may well need to do some more cleaning on the carb.
If you look down the throat of the carb with the idle stop backed out, look at where the butterfly valve meets the throat. You should see small holes or ports at that spot which would be your idle circuit.
I don't see a model # posted for the engine so kinda hard to verify exactly what engine and carb you have.
 
  #17  
Old 11-22-15, 02:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Thank you BFHFixit. That's good info. I will take it off again. The numbers were in post #5.
Model 094332
Type 0114 131
Code 970201YA
 
  #18  
Old 11-22-15, 03:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
I have taken the carb off for the fourth time and cleaned every hole. The three holes inside the throat are open. That's not it.
I see carbs on ebay for 18 bucks. I guess I'll get one. Thanks for the advise guys.
I will report if that fixes it.
 
  #19  
Old 11-22-15, 06:28 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
Sorry I missed your model # post,
Might not be a bad idea to try a new carb, even though the holes in the throat might be open, they do go through circuit to the bowl and could be plugged. Sometimes even a serious soak and cleaning are of no use and new carbs are so cheap these days, it's just not worth the time chasing.
Just the same I am glad you appreciate the info, good feather to keep in a hat
 
  #20  
Old 11-23-15, 05:36 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,763
Some things like varnish can be dissolved away by soaking the carb. Other things like bits of sand (rock) and rust don't get dissolved and may remain even after a good soaking in carb cleaner.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes