Propel Problem With Craftsman Snow Thrower 247.885570

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-16, 06:04 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Question Propel Problem With Craftsman Snow Thrower 247.885570

Hello again ... I am having a problem with my snow thrower not propelling on grassy surfaces. Grass and dirt are getting caught in the skid shoes.

I try lifting it a bit but it still gets stuck in the snow where I end up having to push it to get it to propel.:NO NO NO: On concrete surfaces it will propel and on snow pack. Also it moves extremely slow in reverse ... I have to pull it along.

What can I do if anything to get it to propel better and stop getting stuck???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-16, 06:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,088
You are not supposed to be propelling on a grassy surface. :NO NO NO:
More than likely the cutting edge or the glides are sinking into the grass.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-16, 06:45 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Pete's right (as always ). But at the metro park where I often walk my dog, they snowblow paths over grass when the snow gets deeper than a foot or so.

They install roller guides in place of the skids on the blower and set them lower than normal so the scraper doesn't catch.

Name:  skids.png
Views: 113
Size:  9.8 KB

so if clearing over grass is something you need to do regularly for some reason, that's what I'd do.
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-16, 08:57 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Most of my driveway has grass and gravel, that's where it is needed to clear the drive so I can get out. It's a long driveway about 250ft on each leg of a u turn driveway, not to mention the area in front of the garage. Where can I get skids like the one you show that will fit my blower?
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-16, 03:40 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
They are called Snowblower roller skids. A couple different brands I think and lots of online sources.

The key to snowblowing over gravel is to set the skids (roller or standard) way lower than normal so the scraper doesn't keep digging up gravel. It'll leave some snow behind, but shouldn't be an issue on gravel.
 
  #6  
Old 01-22-16, 08:59 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Arrow Lower or Higher

Okay I'm one of those females that have a series of brain farts when it comes to mechanics ... so I bring the skids closer to the ground correct? Is there anything I can do to get it to move faster in reverse?

Off topic ... what part of Ohio are you in? I'm in Conneaut next to the lake. You?
 
  #7  
Old 01-22-16, 09:50 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Richfield, right near where the old coliseum used to be.

To adjust the skids, you want to put the blower on a flat level surface like garage floor. The scraper blade is at the bottom back of the auger area. It acts as a wide blade to scrape up the snow the auger doesn't reach. Normally the skids are set so the scraper is 1/8 to 1/4 inch above the ground. You want it at least 1/4 inch, maybe more like 3/8. Easiest thing to do is to put a couple blocks of wood or anything else about 3/8 thick under each end of the scraper blade. The skids will most likely be up in the air at this point. Loosen the bolts on the skids and lower them so they touch the ground and then re-tighten the bolts. Now you can remove the spacers under the scraper blade and there should be a 3/8 gap between the scraper and the ground.

Don't think there's anything you can do to speed up reverse. I usually don't bother putting it in reverse; I just squeeze the clutch release and drag it backwards. Of course that's a bit of a workout, so mostly I try to avoid having to back up as much as possible.
 
  #8  
Old 01-23-16, 01:33 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Oh wow ... I used to have to go to Richfield all the time to the operating engineers training site. I would get off at the exit right where the old coliseum use to be. I know the area well.

I will do as you suggested ... hopefully the adjustments will be enough were I don't have to get new skids. Thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes