Troy Bilt 475SS Strimmer - Priming Issue?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-14-16, 02:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 115
Troy Bilt 475SS Strimmer - Priming Issue?

I get a short few second burst of life after priming and then it dies. It seems that the fuel primer bulb is not filled with gas? I'm sure it used to be filled solid with gas when priming. Primer bulb is new, fuel filter is new, the carb I've just pulled apart and hit it with throttle body cleaner. Gas is fresh. Can someone explain to me the purpose of the second fuel line? That is the one that is not attached to the filter, and also tell me how far into the gas tank it is supposed to protrude. Is it supposed to be immersed in the gas? Mine is not. Fuel lines are new also. Only runs for a few seconds after I prime, then dies, then needs a new prime to run again for a few seconds. My take is that it is sucking air into the fuel somehow.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-14-16, 02:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,389
Fuel Lines

Line having filter on the end must be immersed at all times. The return line only needs to be inside the tank.

the carb I've just pulled apart and hit it with throttle body cleaner
Make sure gasket is in place and all screws tight.
 
  #3  
Old 02-14-16, 03:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,185
At least 99% of the time with small carb. like that it's going to be a fuel issue.
Just spraying some cleaner into the throttle body is not going to cut it.
I gave up long ago trying to rebuild those small carb. and just replace them.
Need to be using nonethanel fuel!
 
  #4  
Old 02-14-16, 06:23 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
He did say he took the carb apart.

Is the return line pumping fuel back to the tank when you prime the primer?
 
  #5  
Old 02-15-16, 04:20 AM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
Fuel lines are new also.
Did you replace them? Make sure you have them connected correctly. There is some info in this thread that might help you also.
If you opened the carb and removed the diaphragms and gaskets, did you reinstall them correctly?
Is the metering diaphragm (the one that has a wagon wheel looking affair on it) soft and pliable?
I have had some luck soaking the metering diaphragm in brake fluid to recondition.
Even with everything correct, the mixture adjustment can still be so far off as to keep it from running on its own.
 
  #6  
Old 02-15-16, 04:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 115
Folks,
Thanks for the reply's. I have gone ahead and ordered a new carb off Amazon. At 15 dollars including shipping I'll give it a go. The fuel lines are new, I'll check if the return line is putting fuel back into the tank. I'm pretty sure it all went back together correctly, I made sketches as I went and also marked some parts as to their orientation when I was pulling it apart. I'll post back when I get it running as to what fixed it.

Thanks!
 
  #7  
Old 02-15-16, 04:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 115
Yes, thanks for the link. I have them in the correct place, I noted the connections before pulling them off.
 
  #8  
Old 02-18-16, 05:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 593
2 stroke carbs with a primer bulb have check valves to seal passages when the primer bulb is creating pressure (bulb pushed in) or vacuum (bulb being released). Some check valves are not replaceable so a new carb is the only fix. Good luck.
 
  #9  
Old 02-18-16, 09:28 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,728
Referencing your fuel filter, I believe this is your problem. You don't need a new carb just yet.
You wrote:
Is it supposed to be immersed in the gas? Mine is not.
From Wirepuller:
Line having filter on the end must be immersed at all times
 
  #10  
Old 02-18-16, 11:36 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
The line that he said is not immersed in gas is the one without the filter (return line).
 
  #11  
Old 02-18-16, 12:40 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,728
Yup. You're right Cheese. Just reread it.
 
  #12  
Old 02-18-16, 10:31 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
No worries, I do it all the time too. Skimming too fast.
 
  #13  
Old 03-10-16, 06:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 115
New Carb fitted

Folks,
It's running after an $8 new carb from a company called Oxcell industries via Amazon. The shipping was nearly as much as the carb at $6. It's frightening stuff...this item has precision parts in it and has to be assembled by someone prior to shipping....and it's 8 bucks? Good luck Mr. Trump and co in making America great again. They never actually say how they are going to do it, just lot's of chanting. Maybe we end up living in straw huts and assemble stuff for peanuts?
Thanks for all the help. If anyone is looking on Amazon there are a multitude of sellers of these carbs with a wide degree of pricing. The Oxcell supplied one fitted mine perfectly and I could see from the image that the throttle cable attached via a slot on the carb. There is another style that differs only in the way the cable attaches to the carb, but I believe you can swap out the throttle cable attachment from your old carb to the new one.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes