Missing spark arrestor

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-16, 07:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Missing spark arrestor

So I have an echo srm-225 weed trimmer. I have had the trimmer about 4 yrs. In the last 2 years I have been having a hard time getting it started. I have to pull the cord multiple times. I get it started and I have to let it warm up to run normal and at open throttle. I will use it for about 20 min. or so, and then put it down to do the mowing. I come back to start the trimmer and have to pull the cord AGAIN multiple times to start it. Notice, I had already started and used it for 20-25 min. It was already warm.
I have rebuilt and cleaned the carb, replaces spark plug, fuel lines, air filter and it continues to behave like I described.
Recently, I saw on YouTube people cleaning the spark arrestor on their trimmers and thought that might be a good idea to do since I have never done that. I went to take the trimmer apart to check the spark arrestor screen and found NO screen. Is that normal? I've never touched that before. Do I need to buy one and install it? What should I do?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-27-16, 08:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,128
Welcome to the forums.

I moved your thread to the small engine forum where you will be well taken care of.
 
  #3  
Old 02-28-16, 12:26 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
Not all trimmers have them and it won't affect operation if it doesn't have it when it's supposed to.

It sounds like you may have low compression and/or carburetor problems. If the compression seems normal, I'd look into a new carb. Running it lean will ruin the engine in time.
 
  #4  
Old 02-29-16, 10:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
About the starting issues?

Thank u for the quick response. I will most likely invest in a new carb, however what do u think is causing the trimmer to take multiple pulls to start and after it has already been started and warmed up short period of time before ( 15-20 minute range) like I mentioned in the previous post?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes