Echo PB4600 backpack blower won't start


  #1  
Old 05-17-16, 06:07 PM
Franken30's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Echo PB4600 backpack blower won't start

It seems as though, rather suddenly, my backpack blower won't start. The primer bubble had cracked so I replaced it and now it won't prime. I checked both fuel lines and blew them both out and they seem clear. I tried spraying some starter fluid in it and firing it up and it would start, run for a few seconds, and then stall out. I tried adjusting the idler screws on the carb but nothing worked. I replaced the fuel filter as well but then I noticed this:

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 2466
Size:  31.9 KB

Is there supposed to be another small hose attached to that connection? Could that be why it's not priming?
 
  #2  
Old 05-17-16, 09:18 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,560
Received 645 Likes on 570 Posts
Are you sure about that model number? The Echo site does not list a PB model. Look for a parts list.
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-16, 09:45 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 18,011
Received 108 Likes on 98 Posts
The PB-4600 is a common blower, not sure why the site wouldn't show it.

There should be a fuel line with a filter on the end that drops down to the bottom of the tank on the inside part of that tank grommet. I recommend replacing the whole grommet/fuel line assembly. It comes in a kit for $15 or so if I remember right. Any echo dealer or many small engine shops should carry it.
 
  #4  
Old 06-09-16, 01:53 PM
Franken30's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm really late revisiting this but better late than never.

I replaced the grommet on top of the tank and blew out the fuel lines clean. I also replaced the fuel filter but the problem I'm having is that the primer bubble still won't pull fuel in to prime the engine. This is a bubble that was replaced shortly before I ran into the issue of the blower not working.

The way I've come to understand it, the old bubble rupturing may have been the symptom of a pressure buildup in the system and the rupture was the manifestation of that problem. However, it may still exist so I decided to get a brand new carb, but I'm still waiting on the gaskets from Amazon.

My question is this: Do I need to do any fine tuning on the new carb or can I just swap it out?

At this point, if this doesn't work it's going to have to go into the shop unless someone has another suggestion.
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-16, 04:24 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,835
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Generally the new carbs I put on need no adjustment.
 
  #6  
Old 07-03-16, 03:15 PM
Franken30's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another quick update, I bought the new carb for about $40 and swapped it out. It works like a charm now and the power levels are better than I ever remember. I also took the opportunity to rebuild the old carb so at least I can learn something about how they're put together and it took about an hour. I soaked it in cleaner and replaced all the gaskets. Just to see if I screwed anything up, I swapped out the rebuild with the new one and it works just as well so now I have a spare if need be.

Thank you all for your help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: