Troybilt pony mower wont move`

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-22-16, 04:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Troybilt pony mower wont move`

Have a troybilt pony rider that wont move forward or reverse help please? Ps belt isnt broke or off of it!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-16, 04:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,973
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Is this a hydro rider? If so, is the bypass for the hydro engaged? Did did it move before?
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-16, 04:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is the hydro? And yes it moved fine until i let clutch out one day and it wouldnt move.
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-16, 05:33 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,973
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Hydro = hydrostatic drive. If you have a clutch then nevermind.

Wait until somebody more knowledgeable to shows up.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 05-22-16 at 06:19 PM.
  #5  
Old 05-22-16, 07:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,491
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
Need the model number of the mower for starters.
Most newer mowers have two belts, one for the blades, one for the hydraulics.
Troy-Bilt Riding Mower - 13AN77TG766
 
  #6  
Old 05-23-16, 12:24 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,226
Received 21 Votes on 18 Posts
I'm betting a belt is off.
 
  #7  
Old 05-23-16, 04:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Belt is on a lil loose but on
 
  #8  
Old 05-23-16, 04:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Belt is on a lil loose but on ty
 
  #9  
Old 05-23-16, 05:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will get model # tomorrow my son is working on it.
 
  #10  
Old 05-23-16, 05:35 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,226
Received 21 Votes on 18 Posts
You say belt as in singular. Unless you have a hydro, you have more than one motion drive belt. Loose isn't good on the motion drive belt.
 
  #11  
Old 05-23-16, 05:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It does have 2 drive belts the long one can be moved by hand? DO YOU THINK THE LOOSENESS IS CAUSING MY PROBLEM??
 
  #12  
Old 05-23-16, 06:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,491
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
The long one is likely the blade belt, need to be looking at the short one way up under the frame.
It should be tight enough to play a tune on it.
Once I had the spring break on the idler pulley that holds the tension on the belt.
Another time the bolt was so over tightened right from the factory the idler could not move enough to keep the belt tight.
 
  #13  
Old 05-24-16, 04:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ty joecaption for the info ill tell my son to check all of that. I have had 2 strokes and cant do much but this info is very helpful ty. I check back asap to let cha know if it worked or not
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: