Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Troybilt pony mower wont move`


whimpy33's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
NC

05-22-16, 03:11 PM   #1  
Troybilt pony mower wont move`

Have a troybilt pony rider that wont move forward or reverse help please? Ps belt isnt broke or off of it!

 
Sponsored Links
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11,819
MN

05-22-16, 03:29 PM   #2  
Welcome to the forums!

Is this a hydro rider? If so, is the bypass for the hydro engaged? Did did it move before?


Electrical AC/DC and lighting Moderator
Professional Electrician, Handyman, all around swell guy!
40,000 people die in auto accidents per year in the US. We should ban cars.

 
whimpy33's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
NC

05-22-16, 03:39 PM   #3  
What is the hydro? And yes it moved fine until i let clutch out one day and it wouldnt move.

 
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11,819
MN

05-22-16, 04:33 PM   #4  
Hydro = hydrostatic drive. If you have a clutch then nevermind.

Wait until somebody more knowledgeable to shows up.


Electrical AC/DC and lighting Moderator
Professional Electrician, Handyman, all around swell guy!
40,000 people die in auto accidents per year in the US. We should ban cars.


Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 05-22-16 at 05:19 PM.
 
joecaption's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,967
VA

05-22-16, 06:19 PM   #5  
Need the model number of the mower for starters.
Most newer mowers have two belts, one for the blades, one for the hydraulics.
Troy-Bilt Riding Mower - 13AN77TG766

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,567
GA

05-22-16, 11:24 PM   #6  
I'm betting a belt is off.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
whimpy33's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
NC

05-23-16, 03:54 PM   #7  
Belt is on a lil loose but on

 
whimpy33's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
NC

05-23-16, 03:57 PM   #8  
Belt is on a lil loose but on ty

 
whimpy33's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
NC

05-23-16, 04:01 PM   #9  
Will get model # tomorrow my son is working on it.

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,567
GA

05-23-16, 04:35 PM   #10  
You say belt as in singular. Unless you have a hydro, you have more than one motion drive belt. Loose isn't good on the motion drive belt.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
whimpy33's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
NC

05-23-16, 04:45 PM   #11  
It does have 2 drive belts the long one can be moved by hand? DO YOU THINK THE LOOSENESS IS CAUSING MY PROBLEM??

 
joecaption's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,967
VA

05-23-16, 05:57 PM   #12  
The long one is likely the blade belt, need to be looking at the short one way up under the frame.
It should be tight enough to play a tune on it.
Once I had the spring break on the idler pulley that holds the tension on the belt.
Another time the bolt was so over tightened right from the factory the idler could not move enough to keep the belt tight.

 
whimpy33's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 7
NC

05-24-16, 03:38 PM   #13  
Ty joecaption for the info ill tell my son to check all of that. I have had 2 strokes and cant do much but this info is very helpful ty. I check back asap to let cha know if it worked or not

 
Search this Thread