Mower engine high idle and stalling

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-03-16, 08:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
Mower engine high idle and stalling

Hi,

I have a Bunton 48" walk behind mower with an Onan E125V (12.5 HP) motor that will start, but seems to idle very high with the choke on. If I move the throttle cable out of the choke position it starts to die out, unless I move it back to the choke position.

There was some old fuel that I recently siphoned out, replaced with new fuel and fuel and air filters. Previously it would start fine, but then stall either in the middle of mowing or soon after being started - either way it wouldn't start again for a while. Now I can start multiple times in succession, but with the above noted problems.

I checked position of the throttle plate and cable, seems to be operating OK and in the correct position, so I'm not sure if I have a governor issue or what at this point. Thanks for any help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-03-16, 08:36 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
You have a restriction in the carburetor from old fuel and the throttle plate is probably stuck for the same reason. A carb cleaning is in order.
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-16, 04:13 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,756
And when Cheese says carb cleaning he probably means that it needs to be removed from the engine. Disassembled, soaked and cleaned to make sure all the internal passages jets and orifices are clear. Simply getting a can of carb cleaner and spraying the outside or down the throat of the carb will not do it.
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-16, 10:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
Thanks, I started looking for a carb repair kit last night before I go taking it apart, but couldn't find anything yet. I don't own an ultrasonic cleaner, guess will have to look for a place that does.
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-16, 10:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
I would suggest putting a strong dose of Seafoam in the fuel tank it will clean up a lot of the varnish, its worth a try. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #6  
Old 09-04-16, 11:34 AM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
High idle with the choke on could well be an intake leak also.
 
  #7  
Old 09-04-16, 03:28 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Yep, I thought about that too but the mention of old fuel that was in it pushed me towards a clogged carb. Especially since that's the problem 90% + of the time.
 
  #8  
Old 09-18-16, 11:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
I found the part # both for the Onan carb rebuild kit (146-0561) and a new carb (146-0526). The rebuild kit is about $135 and a new carb $185, I've looked several places and can't seem to find a good deal. Kind of rich for my blood when I'm not sure it will solve the problem.
 
  #9  
Old 09-18-16, 02:03 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Just be mindful when you take it apart to not tear gaskets. They usually will pop apart without and damage. Clean it well, and put it back together. I wouldn't buy the kit at that price unless I just had to have it. This will cost you nothing other than some time and a can of good quality carb cleaner.
 
  #10  
Old 09-25-16, 06:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
I haven't had time to take the carb apart and give it a good cleaning yet, but took a short video of the issue I have. It definitely doesn't idle this high functioning normally.


https://www.dropbox.com/s/ntxqvpgmwgfdaps/20160925_211257_9264965294034.mp4?dl=0
 
  #11  
Old 09-25-16, 06:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
You really should try a strong dose of SeaFoam, it will work wonders on an engine with old gas left in it. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #12  
Old 07-21-17, 09:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
https://www.dropbox.com/s/78pywpbcy5u7re9/20170714_204042_10502179892125%20%281%29.mp4?dl=0 I finally got around to cleaning the carb. I put it back together, was able to get the machine started. However, I had trouble getting the throttle and choke linkages working again. The choke plate I believe is in the closed position right now.
 
  #13  
Old 07-21-17, 10:13 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Excellent video, loosen the screw that clamps the cable and pull the cable upwards, making it pull the linkage farther than it is and see if you can't get the choke to move. It looks like it's connected right and working the throttle correctly, just not pulling it far enough.
 
  #14  
Old 07-21-17, 11:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
Thanks a bunch, I was hesitant to try that before your response, but glad you talked me into it.

I took two more videos. The one below is after I took the carb apart again. The issue is that the throttle linkage is loose - looks like the plastic clip is broken. Maybe a small washer to hold it in place? https://www.dropbox.com/s/apenvj71btnrsl7/20170721_142427_4645783778501.mp4?dl=0
 
  #15  
Old 07-21-17, 11:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
Next video is after I got it running again. Since the throttle linkage is not connected, the mower idle can't really be controlled at the moment if I'm using it to mow.

Also, not sure what the proper idle should be - don't want it too low or too high of course. Not sure if this requires a governor adjustment of some sort? https://www.dropbox.com/s/cpu75sw29izpsz6/20170721_141846_4306075187298%20%281%29.mp4?dl=0 Once again, the help is so much appreciated!
 
  #16  
Old 07-21-17, 01:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
I think I'm gonna get a little tachometer to figure out the engine speed. $20 on Amazon.
 
  #17  
Old 07-21-17, 07:43 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Yes, as the throttle cable pulls the control arm upwards, it should reach a point where it moves the rod that you loosened. That rod wasn't what I was saying to loosen, the cable clamp is what needs loosening so that you can pull the cable up so that when you put the throttle all the way up, it will engage the choke portion of the controls and close the choke. It should only engage in the last 10% or so of the travel.
 
  #18  
Old 07-22-17, 07:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ejoh5knc9i...15428.jpg?dl=0

Thanks for the follow up help. I linked a pic to the plastic clip that broke while I was trying to take it apart, it was brittle. Not sure if there is a suitable replacement out there, I spent time looking but came up short. This connects the throttle cable rod to the carb.
 
  #19  
Old 07-22-17, 08:39 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
Look up a parts breakdown for a kohler CV15S... they used a similar clip on the throttle shaft that will probably work as a direct replacement for yours.
 
  #20  
Old 07-23-17, 10:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
Thank you! Yes, part # 25-158-08 does look pretty similar and is available online.
 
  #21  
Old 07-23-17, 01:31 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
That's not the one... it's the bushing clip that holds the throttle linkage to the governor arm. Lemme go see if I can find a # for it.
 
  #22  
Old 07-23-17, 01:32 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
25-158-11-S

This should fit the bill.
 
  #23  
Old 07-24-17, 09:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
Thanks - I'll give that a shot this week.
 
  #24  
Old 08-03-17, 04:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 119
The part came, was able to modify it a little and was working on tweaking the throttle linkage. However I ran out of gas, went to restart it and the pull rope broke..d'oh! Will have to order a new rope and try again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes