Can't tighten chain on Homelite 240 saw

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-25-16, 09:45 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Question Can't tighten chain on Homelite 240 saw

I don't know how, but I lost my adjustment screw to tighten the chain, I got a replacement, but it is not tightening the chain. I haven't used it much so the chain should still be good. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong when assembling it?

I saw a youtube video on how to do it, but it doesn't appear to be hooking up with the adjusting block. Any idea what I am doing wrong?
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-25-16, 09:49 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Not sure if it is definitive, but that block should be way further back toward those two holes than it is in order to engage the chain holes. If not, then your chain is too long.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-16, 10:08 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,829
There is a little hole in the bar that the tab on the block connects into.
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-16, 10:28 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,532
Is the sprocket worn out?
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-16, 10:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,389
Screw

The screw in the photo shows the block all the way toward the front of the saw. Loosen the screw so that the block is all the way toward the back of the saw. Install the bar and chain, making sure that the block engages the hole in the bar. Tighten the screw until the chain has the correct tension. Hope this helps.
 
  #6  
Old 10-01-16, 11:18 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Well alrighty then ... I backed off the block and it finally snapped into the notch. Now I have a new problem ... when I was trying to start it the cord stopped recoiling. When I took it apart it recoiled, but I don't see why it would not when the cover was on. I have not put the cover back on yet. I haven't had a chance to look at it again.
 
  #7  
Old 10-01-16, 11:34 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
The shoulder screw that holds the starting mechanism to the flywheel may be too tight. Don't loosen it too much, maybe 1 click to see if that frees it up. If you take it all the way out without caution, you will encounter the wrath of the spring monster.
 
  #8  
Old 10-04-16, 10:22 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Arrow Didn't see it

I don't see any screw that I could adjust ... perhaps you could point it out to me. When ever I put the cover back on an pull the cord it won't retract.

When I loosen the cover it will retract.
 
Attached Images   
  #9  
Old 10-04-16, 02:12 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,532
Put the cover on, but before you put any screws in, give the cord a short tug to make sure you have it aligned correctly. If you keep one hand on the cover over the trademark, you may notice the cover settle down just a bit as you tug the cord slightly. Then put the screws in.
 
  #10  
Old 10-04-16, 02:40 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Arrow It didn't work

I did as you said ... I kept giving the cord short tugs but it would not retract. I could see the part inside the saw turning. If I keep tugging on the cord after a time it will recoil all the way. When I try again ... same thing cord won't retract. I have to keep tugging until it does, but I can't get it to start.:NO NO NO: Does something need to be replace to get it to work again?
 
  #11  
Old 10-04-16, 03:10 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,532
Sometimes the spring will get gunked up and want to bind/stick. I would turn the cover over so that you can see the bottom of the cord winding.... and spray the heck out of it with wd-40 or similar. Hold it on its side as you spray so that it might rinse out any debris inside. Pull the cord multiple times and keep spraying until it seems to operate freely. If that doesn't help, it could be that the spring is just getting weak. Give it a shot.
 
  #12  
Old 10-04-16, 03:14 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
I wouldn't spray it, even if it does start working, it won't last long and will need replace or disassembled to clean, which might be the case already.
 
  #13  
Old 10-04-16, 03:53 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,819
^ I agree. It needs to be taken apart and cleaned. I've seen some that the plastic had distorted enough to keep it from turning well. In those cases, replacement is usually the best route.
 
  #14  
Old 10-04-16, 05:52 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Arrow I'll Check It Out

I'll see if I can find some info on how to disassemble it. If anyone know where I can find it please post a link. Thanks
 
  #15  
Old 10-04-16, 09:28 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,819
Pull the rope a bit and get it out of the pull handle, cut the knot off and melt the end to keep it from fraying, pull the handle off and then let the spring wind the rope up inside as much as it will. Help it if needed until all spring tension is gone. Then take the screw out of the center and lift up on the white spool piece gently, making sure to leave the spring in the housing and not pull it up with the spool. When you get it out, you can view the parts and see if it needs cleaning or what.
 
  #16  
Old 10-05-16, 12:54 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Cool Problem Solved :)

Wellsir ... I found a solution in this video . It was really simple to fix. The coil spring needed to be tighten. Works fine again.
 
  #17  
Old 10-05-16, 03:56 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
I am wagering it is only a temporary fix in your case, hopefully not but I would guess the slot or tab on the spring, spool or housing is damaged and it will come loose again....
 
  #18  
Old 10-05-16, 09:43 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,819
Agreed.
____________________
 
  #19  
Old 10-06-16, 12:49 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Arrow Don't Use It That Much

Wellsir ... the chainsaw doesn't see a lot of action ... if it does come loose again ... I will use the same method to tighten it so I will be able to start it. . If I must ... I will replace the spring. Thanks for all the help
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes