Craftsman 26" 6Hp snowblower not working.

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-16, 02:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Craftsman 26" 6Hp snowblower not working.

I have a real old craftsman 26" 13.55 cu. In. 6hp snowblower thats acting up. After finally getting it started for first time this year it ran decent for about 20 mins. It shut off on its own and I can only getting it to run for 3 seconds now. In order to get it started I need to have the choke and throttle just right. It will only run when choke is on and die if I try to take off choke. Its never really ran great as I got it free from neighbor and was hoping to get one more season out of it. Any and all advice is welcome as I am far from mechanically inclined. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-16, 02:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Post the model number for the blower so we can look up what you have. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-16, 02:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
It is 536-82562 ad8. I can't find anything with that model #. Hope you guys can! Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-16, 03:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Found another model # on it. 143-586232
 
  #5  
Old 12-11-16, 03:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
First make sure you have fresh fuel, fresh from the station not fresh from last years can, now clamp off the fuel line, remove the carb bowl nut, this it the main jet, you will lose a little fuel when the nut is removed, now turn the adjustment screw in the bowl nut clockwise to seat counting the turns, probably about 1-1/2, don't over tighten it, now remove the screw and clean it very well, now clean the bowl nut, there are several holes one down the center, one across the bottom and a tiny one near the top, I clean it withe wire from a twist tie. Now reassemble everything setting the adjustment screw to its original setting and you should be good to go. Refer to the pic below for the above mentioned holes. have a good one.
Geo

[ATTACH=CONFIG]74324[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 12-11-16, 04:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Thanks for the quick response geo. I had fresh gas and ran tank dry last winter before storing so that shouldn't be the problem. I did take the bowl nut out and it was pretty clean but ran the twist tie wire through the holes just to make sure. Put it back together and BAM fired up on second pull but only ran for 3 seconds! Really got my hopes up! lol Are you thinking it's not getting enough gas? There's a fuel shut off screw on bottom of gas tank that has a tiny leak, and has a zip tie instead of hose clamp holding fuel line to tank. Maybe I should address this first? Thanks again!
 
  #7  
Old 12-12-16, 07:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
The carb probably needs a good cleaning and adjustments. Below is a link to the service manual for your engine. Have a good one. Geo

http://www.barrettsmallengine.com/ma...headmanual.pdf
 
  #8  
Old 12-16-16, 03:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Awesome. I'll check it out. Thanks again. Will need it tomorrow morning!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes