Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Snowblower problems


bender1227's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 38
NJ

12-17-16, 02:32 PM   #1  
Snowblower problems

My snowblower will only start when I put starting fuel in the carburetor and but after a few attempts it will usually run without a problem just the start up is giving me issues?

 
Sponsored Links
BFHFixit's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,758
KS

12-17-16, 03:50 PM   #2  
Could be a choke/primer issue however equipped...is this by chance a Detroit diesel in a Mac Dump Truck attachment....?


Just needs a bigger hammer
Peace

 
joecaption's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,962
VA

12-17-16, 04:24 PM   #3  
99% of the time it's a fuel issue.
Time to have the carb. rebuilt or replaced.
Been using ethanol fuel, stop it or at least an additive to conteract the effects of it.

 
bender1227's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 38
NJ

12-17-16, 04:58 PM   #4  
Its an old Arien snowblower. I already put on a new carburetor and the new carb is giving me the problem. I know it's getting fuel as I see it coming out of the jets when I pull the pull string. I have also tried messing around with the fuel mixture and idle mixture screws but can't find the right spot. The manual calls for a 1 1/4 turns out on each and still gives me an issue.

Any ideas?

 
OptsyEagle's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 499
VA

12-18-16, 10:09 AM   #5  
I would be looking very closely at the choke. Sounds to me like everything else is working fine.

 
stevek66's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 77
CT

12-18-16, 01:44 PM   #6  
I'd like to see how you make out. I have a (retired) 1988 Ariens snowblower that had similar symptoms. It would start, run - but as soon as it encountered a load it would stall. I'd like to get it going again, I kinda like it better than the 3 year old Craftsman snowblower I have (that already needed a replacement recoil rope)

 
bender1227's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 38
NJ

12-30-16, 09:56 AM   #7  
My issue has to do with the choke shutter. When I purchased and installed the new carburetor it had me install the old shutter on the choke and it wasn't the exact same size so too much air is entering the choke throttle body. Where can I purchase a new choke shutter? Below is the part number for the new carburetor I purchased.

631794A

 
Search this Thread