Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Need to replace 16 amp pushbutton switch in snowblower


PeterUser's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
NJ

01-14-17, 02:38 PM   #1  
Need to replace 16 amp pushbutton switch in snowblower

Hello,
I have a Toro Powercurve electric snow blower with a handle bar switch. It is a DEFOND 125 v/16 amp pushbutton switch DGH-2126-19. I am not able to find exact replacement and looking for help before the next snow storm here in NJ.

Since the switch is in the handle bar assembly, having exact replacement is the most ideal solution but if someone has any other creative ideas (safe for operation) for me to consider, I will appreciate anything you can help with here. Thanks.

 
Sponsored Links
CarbideTipped's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,138
OH

01-14-17, 03:09 PM   #2  
PartsTree.com seems to have replacement parts for these, but you will need exact model number and serial number. Seems like the switch is only sold as part of a wire assembly, not by itself, but that will probably be easier than trying to find a matching switch.


Paul

Inside every small project is a big project waiting to slug you over the head and take all your money and time....

 
PeterUser's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
NJ

01-15-17, 05:01 PM   #3  
Thanks for a very prompt response. Let me check that out for my model 38025

 
PeterUser's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
NJ

01-15-17, 05:55 PM   #4  
Found it, thanks a lot for that help!

 
PeterUser's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
NJ

02-04-17, 03:42 PM   #5  
I received the switch now and realize that its not easy to find any How-To videos on YouTube for how to replace the switch. There are no screws for the switch contacts but just the holes (2 for Line and 2 for Load). I am not sure how will the wire stay in place when inserted in this holes. Similarly I have to carefully remove the wire from old switch as length of the cable is limited due to need to fit that in snowblower handle housing. Any help is appreciated.

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 42,476
NJ

02-04-17, 04:04 PM   #6  
A picture would sure be helpful. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/electrical-ac-dc/534445-how-insert-pictures.html

It looks like the wires just "push-in" on the bottom of the switch.
That would mean there are visible metal tabs that get pushed in with a small tool like a screwdriver to release the wire.

Name:  switch.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  17.6 KB


~ Pete ~

 
PeterUser's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
NJ

02-04-17, 04:49 PM   #7  
PJMax, Thanks again.
Here's the pic. I used the flashlight and with your response, it makes sense that I may need to push down on metal contact to release the wire.Name:  20170204_193531.jpg
Views: 84
Size:  25.9 KB

 
Search this Thread