Why won't my pressure washer run right?


  #1  
Old 03-29-17, 02:14 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Why won't my pressure washer run right?

I have a workforce pressure washer that was sitting around for 4 to 5 years because the pull string broke. I've finally gotten around to repairing the pull string, but can't get this stupid thing to run right.

Here is what I've tried:

Cleaning the jet in the carburetor
Trying a different carburetor
3 different spark plugs (2 new)
New air filter
Drained the tank and removed old gasoline / sediment
Removed the gas lines and cleaned them
Removed the gas cap and cleaned out the breather hole
Adjusting the idle speed - seems to make no difference

There is fresh oil in the engine. I have left it running like this for a while and the problem doesn't seem to clear up. It uses a TON of gasoline while it's running like this. For a while, it wouldn't run at all without using carb cleaner as starting fluid.

Any other ideas?

https://youtu.be/yaqIokZqLaU
 
  #2  
Old 03-29-17, 02:30 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,730
Received 854 Upvotes on 748 Posts
Does it have a manual choke? It appears to be gas related. Maybe remove/clean the carb.
 
  #3  
Old 03-29-17, 03:17 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,511
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hard to tell if that is black smoke but it sure don't look bluish/white. Make sure the choke is opening.
 
  #4  
Old 03-29-17, 03:23 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It has a lever for the choke. It will only run if it's open. It won't run if I close the choke. The smoke looked white to me, but when I started it in the garage it left black soot all over the wall. I have tried cleaning the carb.
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-17, 11:41 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,011
Received 148 Upvotes on 136 Posts
It's getting too much fuel, so either it's the carb or there is gas in the engine crankcase. Try without the air filter just to rule it out.
 
  #6  
Old 03-31-17, 05:59 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks. It was running without the air filter. There's a filter/strainer that's in the gas line that should regulate flow. I gave it to somebody to look at while I was having trouble with it. I bet that strainer was taken out and lost. Now I'm screwed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: