Adjusting frequency of a generator

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-17, 08:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Smile Adjusting frequency of a generator

Members location is probably Myanmar.

Hello,

I have this China made 5kva diesel generator. In general, it works fine and does the job. But, this one comes with 230 Volts and 50Hz. Generator output 236 volts/52Hz with no load and 233/51Hz volts at about 30% load. It works for most of the stuffs but AC. AC will not cool or turn on above 230 volts.

Luckily, this generator comes with AVR which is installed outside the dynamo. So I tried to reduce the voltage by turning counter clockwise the small screw from the AVR to about 225 volts at idle. However, frequency is dropped to 50-49Hz. I understand I need to adjust the governor to increase engine's RPM so increase the Hz. Can you please help me which one to adjust from the picture? I believe its the long bolt? It is very similar to Kipor 5kva generator. Thanks in advanced!

Name:  generator.jpg
Views: 224
Size:  37.1 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-27-17 at 11:14 AM. Reason: Add location.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-17, 10:38 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! Your profile is incomplete so we don't know where you are located or whether or not you are using 50 Hz or 60 Hz appliances. This is a primarily North American forum so if you are located elsewhere our advice may be a little sketchy.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-17, 11:13 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,944
IP location indicates Myanmar (Burma) which is 230v/50Hz.
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-17, 01:42 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,817
I think the long bolt looks like your idle speed adjustment. Your static tension adjustment for the governor may be adjusted by loosening the bolt in the slotted hole on the bracket where the lever is and rotating the bracket in order to increase spring tension on the governor arm. I haven't adjusted one of these before, so I' just going by what it looks like in the picture.
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-17, 06:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Thanks for all your replies.

chandler and ray2047 I am from Myanmar and we use 220volts/50Hz here.

cheese What if I change the spring to different hole? Would it work?

Wouldn't the generator run at constant 3000rpm even if there are load? If so, I think I can try to adjust long bolt. I don't see that spring is moving/adjusting even if there is load or no load. Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 05-27-17, 10:04 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,817
If it doesn't change from loaded to no load, then I would think the long bolt would be where you want to adjust it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes