Briggs &Stratton 5hp won't start?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-20-17, 01:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 10
Briggs &Stratton 5hp won't start?

Hi guys, I'm a newbie, this is my first post, hope someone can help, I have an old Wolseley merrytiller, which has a Briggs 5hp engine model number is 130202, I believe the model year is 1967,
I tried to start it the other day and it started fine with a bit of carb cleaner, it ran for about ten minutes and then just cut out, since then it will start (with carb cleaner) but then cut out straight away, I've put new fuel in, had the carb off, had it sitting in isoproponal all night long, blew out with compressed air, fitted a new diaframph and fuel tank gasket, but still no joy, don't know what to try next, can anybody shed some light, one last thing, I last had it running about eighteen months ago and it was fine then, one other thing how can I check to see if it is indeed getting any fuel up from the tank into the carb?, many thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-20-17, 02:07 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Remove the spark plug, inspect it & smell it. If you smell gas, you need to squirt a few drops of oil in the cylinder & crank it a few times. Install a new plug & it should be fine.
 
  #3  
Old 06-20-17, 02:35 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
Check to see if the pickup tube is still attached to the bottom of the carb and extending into the fuel tank. Make sure it isn't cracked where it connects to the carb, it can suck air at this point. Make sure the carb mounting o-ring or gasket is in place. Isopropyl alcohol doesn't clean a carburetor, you need carburetor cleaner.
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-17, 12:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 10
Thanks for your replays ,, I tried it again tonight,a couple of times, then took the plug out, I could not smell any petrol, nor was it wet, I put a drop of oil in the hole and pulled the rope and everything seemed to be working well, when I took the carb off I did not notice any splits in the tube which was connected to the carb, the tube itself seems to be made of brass or something similar,
Today I ordered a new spark plug, but I don't suppose that will make any difference if I cannot smell petrol on the plug?, any more ideas guys? Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 06-21-17, 01:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,408
If that's one of those with the Pulsa-Jet carbs and the two (2) pick-up tubes inside the fuel tank, then sometimes the screens at the bottom of the pick-up tubes get clogged (especially the longer one) with debris from a dirty fuel tank.

Reminds me of one that ran just fine as long as the tank was full because then the fuel level was high enough to fill the little tank even when the longer tube was clogged (all it does is pump gas from the larger whole tank up into the little internal sump) and the short tube would take it from there.

It's best to have both screens clean; but the longer one gets clogged most frequently.
 
  #6  
Old 06-21-17, 03:11 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
If it does have the second tube and the reservoir in the tank, make sure there is fuel in it and it is not stale. I have seen that reservoir rust out and not hold fuel which is where the carb draws from.
 
  #7  
Old 06-21-17, 06:04 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
I put a drop of oil in the hole and pulled the rope and everything seemed to be working well
Did it have compression?_________________________
 
  #8  
Old 06-22-17, 12:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 10
Yes it seemed to have good compression,also when i blew the carb out with compressed air, i could feel the air at the other end of the fuel filters from which i blew, if it is the resevoir full of rust what is the best way to clean it, thanks
 
  #9  
Old 06-22-17, 04:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,408
Here's a schematic for the carb on that 130202 . . . . I guess it's called a Vacu-Jet, and only has one pick-up tube:

https://www.partstree.com/parts/brig...uel-tank-assy/

You had it off the engine and out of the tank . . . . and it only had one brass tube ?

In 1967, those tanks were probably made of aluminum, and anything that looks like rust is probably a build-up of gasoline deposits/additives. Once removed from the engine, I've heard people will clean tanks by placing a few small stones inside and rattling the stones around to abrate the deposits off the interior and then wash with soap and water and then thoroughly dry.

Examine the bottom of the tube(s) and whether the screen is blocked. It looks like the Pick-up tubes vary in length (parts 611 or 612) depending uo whether your tank is 2 or 3 quarts? I have cleaned some screens by gently scrubbing with an old tooth brush; but if it's deteriorated, you need to press a new screen (part 454) into position. Mine have always been nylon tubes instead of brass; and the nylon tubes screw in while the brass tubes must be carefully pressed into position. And I don't know how one would run a pipe cleaner through the brass tube without removing it ?

Also, my manual specifically warns against allowing the nylon or plastic parts to remain soaking in solvent for any longer than hour. You may want to replace any "O" rings, seeing as you've had the carb soaking overnight. But maybe the alcohol is safe ?

Those are my ideas . . . . worth about 2; others will probably have better ideas.
 
  #10  
Old 06-23-17, 02:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 10
Thanks guys, i intend to have the carb off again this weekend and give it a good clean and hopefully we might get somewhere, i will give you a report then, once again thanks for your ideas
 
  #11  
Old 06-25-17, 01:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
I would suggest you replace the diaphragm #394 if you haven't it has probably lost its flexibility and is not pumping. Have a good one. Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes