Kohler M20 Twin cylinder, no spark with new ignition module

Old 07-27-17, 06:55 AM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Kohler M20 Twin cylinder, no spark with new ignition module

Bought this engine used, off a Ransomes rotary mower. I cannot get any spark out of it. The resistance from spark plug lead to the other spark plug lead is 14.8K. That seems to be out of the range of "22,000/42,000 ohms" specified in the service manual. The original ignition module tests at 30K but I get no spark from it either.

The service manual (page 8.2, Test #4) says "Module must have been 'fixed' to perform Test 4". Anyone know what this means? My test for spark was done with wire removed from module kill switch, one plug installed and the other held against block to observe no-spark.

If it's not the ignition module, what else could be preventing it from sparking? I'm a newbie at small engines. Could the flywheel magnet have gone bad?

Thanks for any suggestions, Rick

Old 07-27-17, 03:48 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Can you provide the model and spec # of the kohler?
Not sure how you are testing the mags but they should be tested separately and removed from the system. From the high tension lead to the stack/ground on the mag, 8k-20k ohms for most...but good ball park.
Check the air gap if mounted, should be .010 or the width of a business card.
Check your magnet by seeing if it will hold a large screw driver. They do but it is rare they fail.
I would need a wiring diagram to see how these are wired, could be a diode involved....

Marjbob and Cheese I think have a bit more experience with this so....

Old 07-27-17, 04:37 PM
B
Thanks BFHFixit for your reply. It's a Kohler M20 (the nameplate says M20S, not sure what the 'S' is for), Spec # 49500.