Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Generac GP5500 surge??


Slugworth's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
MA

11-06-17, 01:29 PM   #1  
Generac GP5500 surge??

I have this generator and I'm trying to find out if this is normal or not. When I start it up without any load it surges up and down. But when I connect something to it and turn it on it runs perfectly smooth... I've had people tell me this is not right it should be smooth all the time. It's done this sense I got it new. I just run it every month or so for maintenance.

Thanks for your input.

 
Sponsored Links
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 42,476
NJ

11-06-17, 01:54 PM   #2  
Yes... it may take a few minutes to warm up but it should stabilize before a load is connected. Does it have an auto-idle control on it... a switch.... if it does.... turn it off.


~ Pete ~

 
Slugworth's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
MA

11-06-17, 02:01 PM   #3  
It just has the choke and the fuel shutoff. it also has the ignition on/off switch. I haven't really ran it long without a load to see if it would smooth out or not. I'll have to try that and see.

Thanks!!!

 
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 42,476
NJ

11-06-17, 02:03 PM   #4  
My generator has a manual pull-out choke and an electric choke.
It stumbles a little until the electric choke opens.


~ Pete ~

 
Slugworth's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
MA

11-06-17, 02:59 PM   #5  
I think mine just has the manual choke

 
Slugworth's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 98
MA

11-07-17, 07:04 PM   #6  
I'll try some seafoam through it.

 
Search this Thread