electrical box comments

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-30-18, 10:15 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,871
Received 118 Votes on 108 Posts
electrical box comments

These are pics of my electrical box at my cabin. I removed the neutral bar in order clean it up. Rust corrosion.

Looking for comments about it. I plan on using a portable generator to provide power. I have two choices I can go with. One is an RYOBI RYI2200 1800 WATT DIGITAL INVERTER GENERATOR. It's very quite and is preferred. The other choice is a Coleman Powermate 5000 watt. I'm currently using this unit as a back-up to my home through a transfer box, but plan on getting a whole house natural gas generator.

My only need is mainly for light and occasions vacuum cleaner. In fact I am using it for that purpose now, but with extension cords. The cabin is already wired with outlets and light fixtures, all at 15 amps as the circuit breaker show.

So my question is what would be the proper way, in terms of extension cord or wire to connect to the 100 amp main switch. What outside wall connector would I be looking for?

Note: Safety is of concern but not codes. Although technically there is a coder enforcer (I bought this place from the town code enforcer) they are not enforced unless it's for a permanent home.

Name:  IMG_20180928_145330183.jpg
Views: 60
Size:  91.0 KB
 
Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-30-18, 05:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,565
Received 510 Votes on 480 Posts
Where did the feed go to that Federal Stab-Lok panel ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-01-18, 03:52 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,871
Received 118 Votes on 108 Posts
The cabin never had any feed going to it. Even though the cabin is wired with outlets and light switches, no power was ever wired to the main.
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-18, 06:33 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,057
Received 73 Votes on 65 Posts
Safety is of concern but not codes.
If that is true, I recommend replacing that FPE panel with something that has a better track record.

You can either connect a cord to the main breaker, or run a cable and install an inlet on the side of the building. Either way I would also recommend using something smaller then the 100 amp breaker by sizing it to the wire/cable you will be feeding the panel with. (Example: if you use a cord with #10 wire then use a 30 amp breaker, #12, 20 amp, etc. )
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-18, 06:49 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,871
Received 118 Votes on 108 Posts
I recommend replacing that FPE panel with something that has a better track record.
Can you explain? This only a hunters cabin and not much more. The main purpose is for lighting.

What are the ramification if I use the existing 100 amp connect? Most likely I'll use a #12 or #14 AGW size wire
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: