Any higher cc push mowers that are NOT self-propelled?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-11-19, 11:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,879
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Any higher cc push mowers that are NOT self-propelled?

I'm looking to upgrade to a more powerful push mower (190cc would be nice). My existing one is only a couple years old, but it struggles with my lawn (Zoysia). I believe it is a 160cc mower. I'm having difficulty finding a more powerful push mower that isn't self-propelled. Is there such a thing anymore?

I've heard a reel mower is best for turfgrass, but I'm not sure I'd want to use a manual one, and the gas powered ones are $1,000+.

Come to think of it, is it possible to swap out the motor for a more powerful one? I like the mower itself. Just need more power.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-11-19, 11:57 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,523
Received 162 Votes on 152 Posts
Yes, you can swap out the motor. It's pretty easy. I swapped the engine in my office's push mower. Pay attention to things like the engine's mounting bolt circle, shaft size and throttle & choke location.
 
  #3  
Old 07-11-19, 12:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,879
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If the existing mower is a 140cc (not sure, I'll have to check), is it possible to safely swap it for a 190cc? I'll likely end up buying a new mower, but am still curious.
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-19, 02:49 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,523
Received 162 Votes on 152 Posts
On a push mower I don't think it matters much as long as the new engine bolts up and the shaft length is correct.
 
  #5  
Old 07-11-19, 03:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,389
Received 19 Votes on 17 Posts
Question: For many of the odd areas I have a self propelled walk behind mower but I use it 50/50 as push or powered. If you get a powered (I like front wheel) just don't engage the drive. But it is there if and when you need it.

Bud
 
  #6  
Old 07-11-19, 04:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,427
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Zoysia grass is cut at 2" if the mowers having a tough time likely your not mowing it enough.
 
  #7  
Old 07-12-19, 07:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 3,879
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I let it get a little longer than I should have last week and lowered the mower one notch the other day because I'll be on vacation all next week. You're probably right that if I mowed it sooner I wouldn't have had an issue. I was kind of looking for an excuse to buy a new mower, because the one I have tends to leave uncut blades here and there and I have to go over areas a second time. The blade is brand new. Maybe I need to clean the deck?
 
  #8  
Old 07-12-19, 08:17 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,523
Received 162 Votes on 152 Posts
Missing a blade now and then is just a product of using a rotary mower no matter how sharp the blade and how clean the deck. The wheels in front of the blade lay some grass down that doesn't get cut and then there is the occasional bit that doesn't get cut by the blade. If you really want manicured and perfect you need a reel mower. In my manicured "pretty grass" area I mow with a 50% overlap so basically it gets cut twice and that does pretty well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: