Won’t run unless I feed it gas thru the carb


  #1  
Old 11-20-19, 12:32 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Won’t run unless I feed it gas thru the carb

Tecumesh 7 hp. New carb installed. New gas. Only runs if I feed it gas thru the carb. Seems to be not pulling fuel from carb
 
  #2  
Old 11-20-19, 12:40 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
Is the carb gravity fed or does it have a pump? Gravity fed may have float stuck and take bowl off pull float down.
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-19, 12:46 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is fuel in the bowl
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-19, 03:39 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,514
Received 962 Votes on 883 Posts
It's a fuel problem. New carb or not it's still a fuel problem. It is possible the new carb is not working, especially if it's a cheap aftermarket one. It also could be bad or dirty gas. You said "new gas" but did you replace the fuel line and clean the inside of the fuel tank? All it takes is one fleck of varnish or dirt to clog a jet in the carb.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: