Stihl 028 Wood Boss Chainsaw

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-08-19, 06:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Stihl 028 Wood Boss Chainsaw

This is an older saw. I am missing something just checking to see if anyone has any ideas. I replaced the carb, it will fire with starting fluid but does not seem to be getting gas to run. Two lines on carb. One goes to tank with fuel filer and one comes out the back. Not sure where that goes? Both look good, gas filter is clean. Just will not start. Thanks for your help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-19, 12:00 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,255
Received 22 Votes on 19 Posts
Could you have the lines reversed? Check for kinks or holes/cracks in the lines, make sure the fuel filter isn't clogged, did you install a brand new carb?
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-19, 12:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I did put on new carb, fuel lines look good. There is no way to reverse fuel lines on this machine. I blew air thru the fuel filter line and filter looks like new. The line that comes off back of carb must go to tank? or?
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-19, 12:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 666
Received 59 Votes on 55 Posts
Is the fuel filter filled with gas?

Just Google "Stihl 028 Wood Boss Chainsaw" and there are several videos about this unit which may be helpful to you.
 
  #5  
Old 12-08-19, 05:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
In doing the google search, talks about the air cleaner. There is a lever on it that closes and is suppose to close with the choke button but it does not??? Just does not move that at all
 
  #6  
Old 12-08-19, 05:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 506
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
where is your mixture screws set at would try 1 and 1/2 turns out on both high and low for a starting point if it still wont start would look a the fuel and impulse hoses again.
 
  #7  
Old 12-08-19, 06:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2,429
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Is it possible when you installed the new carb you installed the gasket backward and blocked the engine pulse port so the carb diaphragm is not pumping. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #8  
Old 12-08-19, 07:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks for the reply's I am at 1 1/2 turns on the jets. I did line up the holes on the gaskets. I will pull the gas supply line as I have a new one and will put it on with new filter and give that a try
 
  #9  
Old 12-08-19, 08:24 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,255
Received 22 Votes on 19 Posts
The choke needs to close for the engine to start. See if you can determine what's keeping it open.
 
  #10  
Old 12-09-19, 07:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The choke lever does not even touch the lever on the air filter. Nothing seems to be broken? Looked at another lever and they look the same as the one I have??
 
  #11  
Old 12-09-19, 09:05 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,008
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Can you post a picture of the filter mounted, the cover off, and the Master Control in each of the three positions?
 
  #12  
Old 12-09-19, 04:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Trying to post pictures but the site will not let me because I have posted others and says I am out of storage? How do I delete other pictures?
 
  #13  
Old 12-10-19, 05:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,254
Received 482 Votes on 452 Posts
Picture storage taken care of. See your PM's.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-13-19 at 05:16 PM.
  #14  
Old 12-12-19, 06:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Hope these pictures help. The choke lever does not even touch the lever on the filter. Not sure why. This is the way it was when I got this saw as a project. Any Suggestions?

Name:  e1.JPG
Views: 95
Size:  72.2 KB

Name:  e2.JPG
Views: 87
Size:  72.3 KB

Name:  e3.JPG
Views: 88
Size:  75.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-13-19 at 05:19 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #15  
Old 12-12-19, 08:05 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,008
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
in the first picture, directly below the carb mounting bolt on the right, , there is a plastic cam lever. It's laying down there, but does it flip up when you move the Master Control lever to the choke position?

When the filter is mounted, the black plastic lever on the lower right of the filter would locate directly above that cam.
 
  #16  
Old 12-12-19, 08:31 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,008
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Do you have the filter mount, the parts #'s 4,12 and # 5?

https://visionspares.com/getdiagram/...7685c1578d.jpg

I think you may have a couple different filter types and associated components in play. It may have been just a design updating or something else. See if what you have matches the diagram in the link.

The part you have the pic of just looks like a large particle screen.
 

Last edited by marbobj; 12-12-19 at 09:06 AM.
  #17  
Old 12-12-19, 02:28 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,008
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
In researching this thing it looks like the filter setup in the diagram above is probably superceded by something like what you have in your picture. Then a number of parts were put into an assembly. That material may just be a small micron screener.

But still the shutter for the choking, even if integrated into an assembly should move off the cam lever in the master control of the saw. That brings us around to either something is broken, missing, or the wrong part.

It does seem like that's a lot of stuff to put into a $9.00 filter.
 
  #18  
Old 12-12-19, 04:02 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,255
Received 22 Votes on 19 Posts
Can you get a picture of it with the filter assembled or is the view obscured? The cam should contact the lever on the filter and flip it shut. If it doesn't, something is broken or misaligned or missing. In the first photo, it looks like something might be broken off the cam part. I may have to go out tot he shop and look at one to see if it looks the same.
 
  #19  
Old 12-12-19, 05:17 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,008
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Is that a common Stihl filter, Cheese? The one with the choke flap inside it. The diagram shows all the parts separate.
 
  #20  
Old 12-12-19, 05:26 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,255
Received 22 Votes on 19 Posts
Yeah, the 028 had this, and several other models had similar but different filters with the choke incorporated into it. The 024, 026, 031, 032, 038, and ms260 are some that also did this. There are probably more.
 
  #21  
Old 12-13-19, 04:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks for all the reply's. That filter is a new china one and is junk. But it looks like the exact one I took off the saw but it needed to be replaced. Will get a new one once I get the saw running. You cannot see anything with the filter installed. The lever on the saw does move up and down but comes close but does not contact the lever on the filter. I thought it was broken but I am not sure. Looked at a couple used ones for sale on ebay and they look exactly the same. I will take it out of the saw hopefully tomorrow if it quits snowing. And will check and see what it looks like.
 
  #22  
Old 12-13-19, 05:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The link with the picture 4,12,5 all come with the filter. 14 does not show the lever on the end of the bar? That may be a newer saw. Even the filter only has one screw to hold in place as the cover goes in second hole, I have not yet taken out that screw
 
  #23  
Old 12-14-19, 05:13 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,008
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
It really looks like that cam lever is broken off. The good news is they aren't that expensive.

Google or Ebay this part number: 1118 182 0900
 
  #24  
Old 12-14-19, 05:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
When you look at the ones on ebay some end levers that are suppose to move the choke on the filter are flat end and some ends are rounded? Mine is rounded. Will pull it out this morning and compare Thanks
 
  #25  
Old 12-15-19, 06:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
This is a picture of the part from my machine, the end that pushes on the filter choke lever is rounded over. Some of the ones on ebay looked exactly the same. I ordered one that has a square end. Each of the listed were all different and with same part number?? When it comes will let you know. Thanks for the help with this project
 
Attached Images  
  #26  
Old 12-15-19, 07:35 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,008
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
I see what you mean. Not sure why they would have the same part number with different cams serving the same function in the same mounting. . It would be a good place for a serial number to zero in on parts.

We know for a fact the cam has to reach the filter arm. Did the old filter fit any different against the cam? it looks like the wear on the cam is on the top as it sits in the picture. That side would be the underside when mounted. Is there a chance the filter arm tucks under it when everything is assembled?

Cheese is the Guru around here on those things. He will likely know more about it.
 

Last edited by marbobj; 12-15-19 at 07:50 AM.
  #27  
Old 12-15-19, 10:00 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,255
Received 22 Votes on 19 Posts
I haven't run into this issue or noticed that there are two different types. I'm waiting to see what happens with the new lever too.
 
  #28  
Old 12-16-19, 05:50 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,008
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
A little guess work here.....

It looks like from the diagram of this thing there is a tension spring (#6 in the diagram) that may default the choke flap to closed. If that is the case the choke cam opens and holds the flap for running. That means the air filter arm would be mounted on the front/lower side of the choke cam.

With that in mind as a possibility, switch the master control to full choke and mount the filter. See how that makes it look.
 
  #29  
Old 12-18-19, 11:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
From what I can tell that spring hold the choke open or the flapper on the filter open. The choke lever I think is suppose push it shut. ? The part should be here tomorrow and will give it a try
 
  #30  
Old 12-20-19, 11:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Well it looks like the USPS lost the package with the part in it. Was out for delivery on the 18th, but was not delivered?? They cannot find it?? This is so typical of my post office. If it does not come soon will have to order another one.
 
  #31  
Old 12-23-19, 11:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Wow, it Started! This is a learning experience. The one picture below shows the contact spring on top of the choke switch shaft?? This was the way it was when I got the saw. My kids picked it up for free and has not run for years. I moved the contact spring behind where it was suppose to be and put on the filter and put it on choke and after 4 or 5 pulls fired right up. Adjusted the carb and it runs great.. When the spring was on top it pushed out the filter and prevented the choke lever from making contact. Now just need to work on the oiler and will have a great saw. Looks rough but will do its job. Thanks for all the help. Have a Wonderful Christmas
 
  #32  
Old 12-23-19, 07:18 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,255
Received 22 Votes on 19 Posts
Great! Glad you got it figured out. Merry Christmas!
 
  #33  
Old 12-26-19, 12:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Anybody have any experience with the oiler system on this saw? Have checked the pump, gasket and the lines are good. My thoughts are the pump is bad. All the gears and everything are good. Have flushed out the tank etc but just does not pump oil
 
  #34  
Old 12-26-19, 07:00 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,255
Received 22 Votes on 19 Posts
Yeah, probably just the pump if the lines are good and you can spray something through them like wd40 through the straw.
 
  #35  
Old 12-27-19, 09:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Took the pump apart, and the plastic gear inside the pump is stripped and would not turn. Just need to find a part and put everything back together
 
  #36  
Old 01-01-20, 03:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Just an update on saw project. Got a used oil pump on Ebay, put it on with some gasket sealer, put the saw back together and it took a bit of running to fill pump and pump oil to the bar. Did it first without the bar to make sure it was pumping and put bar on. All is well, Finally! Been a project but worth the effort to get it running and ready to cut wood when this snow is gone! Happy New Year!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: