Can't Figure Out Why Chain Won't Fit on Homelite 240

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-03-20, 11:56 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Can't Figure Out Why Chain Won't Fit on Homelite 240

I have been trying for a couple of hours trying to figure out why this chain will not fit on the bar ... it is suppose to be for the homelite 240. I just don't get it. It's just a fraction of an inch too short with the chain in the bar slot. The bar is an 18 inch. I tried to slide the chain but it just keeps coming out of the slot. I have put chain on it before with no problem ... what is going on? Am I going crazy?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016TQHUEC/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1




 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-03-20, 12:22 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,249
Received 124 Votes on 115 Posts
Chain look like it is on backwards to me.
Cutting teeth on the bottom should face the drive sprocket.
 
  #3  
Old 04-03-20, 12:23 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,308
Received 133 Votes on 117 Posts
First off you have it on backwards.
 
  #4  
Old 04-03-20, 12:25 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 78
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Have you adjusted the chain length tightening screw? If your prior chain was on the chain saw for a long time then it had stretched and the adjustment screw was turned to compensate for the length. Now a new chain will be slightly shorter and this screw will need to be adjusted to move the bar back closer to the hub or the new chain will not fit.
 
  #5  
Old 04-03-20, 02:08 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 1,522
Received 58 Votes on 51 Posts
Since the bar adjust slot is hitting the bar retaining bolt, the bar is back as far as it can go. Verify the chain is for your saw and bar length. In your picture it appears the lower part of the vise jaws might be preventing the chain from bottoming in the chain slot.
 
  #6  
Old 04-03-20, 02:44 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2,445
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
I agree with the others, the chain is on backwards. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #7  
Old 04-03-20, 04:44 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,367
Received 30 Votes on 25 Posts
Plus one on the chain being backwards. Turn it the right way and it will fit down in the drive sprocket further and allow the small bit of extra slack you need.
 
  #8  
Old 04-04-20, 06:56 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,650
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
Remove the bar from the vise. The vise is taking some of the slack in the chain. Turn the chain in the opposite direction as already mentioned.
 
  #9  
Old 04-04-20, 10:50 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,395
Received 444 Votes on 408 Posts
When installing a chain I hold the bar vertically, sprocket up with one hand and with the other hand I lay the chain over the bar. I get the chain completely into the guide slots top and bottom. Then I grip the bar and chain near the base so I can move it while keeping the chain completely in the guide slots. Then I put the bar on the saw. Make sure the tensioner is engaged and put on the side plate & nuts. Tighten the nuts enough to hold things in place and tighten the tensioner. Once you have the chain at the correct tension then fully tighten the nuts.
 
  #10  
Old 04-05-20, 12:02 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow I still don't get it

I turned the chain the other way but is still looks like it does in the picture. I guess I'm not getting what backwards means. Because the way I am doing it there is no difference.
 
  #11  
Old 04-05-20, 12:16 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,249
Received 124 Votes on 115 Posts
Look at one chain link.
See the half round, one one side you have the depth guage (raker), on the other side of the hole you have the cutter.
The cutting teeth must face the drive sprocket on the underside of the bar.

Also forget the vice you are just making it harder to fit the chain on.

Perhaps the following will help.
https://www.google.com/search?source...FhbIP07CD0AY28
 
  #12  
Old 04-05-20, 12:35 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Is the chain the wrong size?

As you can see on the bar it has 18/45 H1 04 QP. But with the measuring tape the bar is over 20" and you can see in the picture the chain simply isn't long enough to fit over the sprocket. And as far as I can tell the teeth are going in the right direction.
 
Attached Images     
  #13  
Old 04-05-20, 12:50 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,542
Received 69 Votes on 60 Posts
First, in the top photo, the bar is on UPSIDE DOWN.

In the bottom photo, it looks like the the oiler hole is plugged with debris.
The USUALLY means that the notch that the chain runs in is plugged with debris.
I tried to slide the chain but it just keeps coming out of the slot.
That may explain why the chain isn't staying in the slot: the slot is packed with sawdust and pushes the teeth up and out.

Finally, it looks like the chain is simply too short for that bar.
 

Last edited by Hal_S; 04-05-20 at 01:28 PM.
  #14  
Old 04-05-20, 01:47 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,249
Received 124 Votes on 115 Posts
A bar is measured/speced from the front of the saw to the bar tip not the actual bar length.
 
  #15  
Old 04-05-20, 02:02 PM
M
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,096
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
The chain and bar don't match even with everything going in the right direction. Just get a longer chain. If you have the chain that came off the saw, count the links.
 
  #16  
Old 04-05-20, 11:58 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow What size?

Would a 20" chain work or would it be too big?
 
  #17  
Old 04-06-20, 12:31 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Okay I see now

It looks like I have to get a S64 18" chain ... I have the S62.
 
  #18  
Old 04-09-20, 10:14 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 371
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up (Problem Solved) 18 inch sometimes isn't

Wellsir ... I would have never have thunk the 18" chain comes in two sizes. For a while there I thought I was going crazy. So many different chains to the same saw.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: