Craftsman Riding Lawn Mower - Model 917.289344

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-20, 06:36 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: US
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Craftsman Riding Lawn Mower - Model 917.289344

Equipment specifications:

Craftsman Riding Lawn Mower "YTS3000"
Model Number 917.289344
Serial Number 032910D004135
Kohler 22HP Courage Twin Cam Engine

Yesterday evening, 5-7-2020, I pressure washed my entire lawn mower (Engine bay included) from a safe distance, not focusing on any certain area with too much time. After drying as much of the water off of the mower as possible with my backpack leaf blower, I cranked it up, drove it for 3/4 of a mile. At the 1/4 mile mark, I engaged the blade clutch lever to make sure everything actuated normally. Everything actuated normally - blades and everything. Once I reached 3/4 of a mile, it literally de-energized on me during full acceleration with the blades engaged. It would not turn over, crank, or respond to me turning the key in the ignition switch. The only thing I could hear is me turning the key. No response from the engine, battery -- literally nothing at all.

1. My battery is in great condition. I pulled and checked. Even un-connected and re-connected the terminals.
2. The spark plug and plug wire are in great condition. I pulled and checked.
3. My fuel is fresh (Literally just poured new fuel in before cranking up after the pressure wash).
4. I have unplugged most electrical connections and blew any lingering debris out with an air hose and reconnected.
5. My carburetor and engine are running like new. No hesitations, clogs, or anything of that nature.

Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, everyone!
 
  #2  
Old 05-08-20, 07:00 PM
M
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 4,200
Received 16 Votes on 15 Posts
Your battery is fully charged (great condition) or dead flat but is a perfectly good battery? If it's the first one, most will tell you to check the fuses.
 
timbogates voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 05-08-20, 07:11 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
I think your tractor is just like mine. There are may safety switches on it that will do what you are saying.Seat switch, brake switch , clutch switch Ma have missed one but each switch needs to be checked. Tried to find a wiring diagram but I could not find one. I do know all switches must work or no start.
 
timbogates voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 05-08-20, 10:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,489
Received 1,422 Votes on 1,315 Posts
Click here for the wiring diagram.
Once diagram opens..... click on it to enlarge it.
I highlighted the important wiring. There are two switches in the white/start line.

Name:  twd.JPG
Views: 91
Size:  60.1 KB

This diagram came from the Sear's Parts Direct service.
Scroll down the left side to get to wiring diagrams.
Sear's parts direct
 
  #5  
Old 05-08-20, 10:48 PM
Rough Rooster's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 431
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Have almost same mower and it flummoxed me for several minutes while I traced wiring.
Discovered the key switch was full of water and shorted out. Friend called about that time and I told him what I had discovered. He said he had a switch and brought it to me. Installed it and the problem was resolved.
Note in wiring diagram that a ground wire connects to switch terminal to provide kill factor for magneto. That was what had shorted due to moisture. Blew fuse and then would not start.

Just one more gremlin to exterminate.

RR
 
  #6  
Old 05-08-20, 11:02 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,580
Received 50 Votes on 45 Posts
I second the fuse suggestion, I'd check the fuse first.
 
  #7  
Old 06-24-20, 05:48 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: US
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Craftmans Riding Lawn Mower Mod. 917.289344

Well you were correct on the 20A fuse. Since my first fuse I keep blowiing the 20A Fuse. What could have been causing this to blow fuses? Should I have used a 25 or 30Amp?
What is the typical source? No new battery or moisture problem.
 
  #8  
Old 06-24-20, 05:53 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: US
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You were right it was the 20Amp fuse. Now I keep blowing the 20 Amp should this be a 25 or 30Amp? What is typically the problem for a return to blowing fuses.
Wonder what the owners manual calls for in Amps?
 
  #9  
Old 06-24-20, 06:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,489
Received 1,422 Votes on 1,315 Posts
I left you the link to all the parts. The parts lists says 20A fuse.

Blows the fuse when................
Key is off ?
Key on and running ?
Key on and running and hit bumps.
You will need to follow the wiring and see if it's bare.
Based on when it blows you could also have a defective part.

If you open the wiring diagram..... B is the battery supply to the key.
A1 is key on source. Follow the A1 wire. Many items connected to it.
 
  #10  
Old 06-25-20, 07:31 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,013
Received 19 Votes on 15 Posts
You still have a switch or other electrical device that's full of water and shorting out. If you put a larger fuse in you risk the chance of burning up the wiring.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: