Help with Redmax string trimmer (new here)

Old 08-28-20, 01:22 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post Help with Redmax string trimmer (new here)

Hello,
newbie here, and found you all by Googling for help to fix our Redmax BCZ2650S string trimmer. It is 11 yrs old, without any problems, we haven't even had to replace the spark plug, until about a month ago. Hubby was getting ready to do the weed eating and it wouldn't run right, it would start, but when he throttled it up, it would die. We replaced the Ignition Coil, just today, and still no luck. There is no spark on the sparkplug, and with a new ignition coil we figured there should be.
I bought a OEM ignition coil so I would think it would not be flawed, but who knows, right?
We aren't real tech savvy with these things but have a working knowledge of how to repair motors, etc. but this weed eater is really causing us to learn new words. lol
I sure hope someone out there can give us some pointers about how to figure out the problem with this weed eater and I would really appreciate it too.
Thanks for any info anyone can share, or tips on how to fix this weed eater.

Old 08-28-20, 03:16 PM
Received 462 Votes on 430 Posts
So. lets start with the most obvious, over the past 11 years, have you religiously used stabilizer in the fuel over the winter months?

If answer is no, then 99% chance that the carb is an issue!

Old 08-28-20, 04:19 PM
Well we do use high octane gas, religiously and no we don't use Stabil. Hubby has a problem with using it, but we do keep the tanks filled all the time.
We don't think it is the carb as it is getting gas, but it really has no spark at the plug. We just changed out the Ignition coil today, with no help with getting spark to the plug.
Thanks for the help, and I am looking forward to more answers to my problem.

Old 08-28-20, 04:26 PM
Received 27 Votes on 22 Posts