Honda F501 Tiller


  #1  
Old 03-06-24, 06:57 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Honda F501 Tiller

Does anyone know how to adjust the driver belt tension on a about 1985 Honda F501 Rototiller. I never did this before and cannot find any information on it. Thank you
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-24, 07:43 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,170
Received 2,272 Upvotes on 2,024 Posts
I don't see any way of adjusting the chain tension. I assume you replace the chain, sprockets or both if it becomes worn.

 
  #3  
Old 03-06-24, 10:48 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,033
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
It has a handle that pulls a cable that pulls a pulley up tight to the belt to make the belt tight. According to the diagram, it appears that there is an adjustment on the cable at the handle to make the cable pull tighter. If you run out of adjustment and it's still not tight enough, it's time for a new belt.
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-24, 11:44 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you Pilot Dane, but I am trying to replace the Belt not the chain. Also thank you Cheese, I am not very smart but I cannot see any handle. I have a sketch from a Honda Manual that shows to undo 5 nuts, that would release the engine mount, but the sketch is not very clear and I cannot see the nuts they are talking about.
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-24, 11:55 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,170
Received 2,272 Upvotes on 2,024 Posts
I am sorry. That is what I get for skimming instead of reading.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-24, 08:39 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,033
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
The handle lever is on the left handlebar grip according to the diagram I looked at. Maybe there are different versions?
 
  #7  
Old 03-09-24, 04:29 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi Cheese,
I know what you mean now. The handle that you are talking about is like the clutch, when you pull that it tightens the belt and drives the tines. You can adjust the cable from the handle, but not the belt.
Anyhow, thank you for your help
 
  #8  
Old 03-10-24, 11:15 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,033
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
?? Adjusting the cable tightens the belt. That's how you adjust.
 
  #9  
Old 03-11-24, 04:34 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi Cheese,
I finally figured how to adjust the belt on my Honda F501. There are 5 nuts that you need to loosen, when you do that, you loosen the engine, with the engine loose you make the belt tight or loose. I had a friend come by today and together with a sketch from a F501 manual that I had downloaded, we managed to figure which nuts to loosen. I still like to thank you for your sincere effort in trying to help me.
 
  #10  
Old 03-11-24, 09:21 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,033
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
If it's that loose, I think the belt is worn thin and time to be replaced. But glad you got it figured out!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: