Ryobi "Expand It" power head


  #1  
Old 05-15-24, 12:09 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,068
Received 31 Upvotes on 25 Posts
Ryobi "Expand It" power head

I purchased this 40V tool without a battery. I already have two 40V Ryobi tools with batteries. I received the tool, plugged in a fully charged 40V, 4AH battery and - nothing. I tried a different battery, a 40V, 2AH fully charged - same nothing. I borrowed a new 40V , 4AH battery from a neighbor and the tool worked fine.
After more than a little frustration I got through to a Ryobi customer service rep. We spent a half hour discussing the problem and he had no solution other than your "old" batteries must be bad. My old batteries are 3 years old and they work fine in 3 other 40V tools. They charge and hold their charge as expected.

Anyone else have a problem like this where older lithium batteries don't work in newer tools? These batteries all have different part numbers, but Ryobi advertises on their web site that this tool works with all Ryobi 40V batteries.

 
  #2  
Old 05-15-24, 12:14 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,416
Received 66 Upvotes on 57 Posts
Take some measurements of the battery contacts and tool contacts to verify that the batteries are in fact connecting to the tool.
 
  #3  
Old 05-15-24, 11:37 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,031
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
Do your batteries work on the neighbor's equipment?
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-24, 06:32 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,068
Received 31 Upvotes on 25 Posts
We both have Ryobi leaf blowers. Mine is a couple of years old and his is new. I tried both of my old batteries (4AH and 2AH) in his leaf blower and it works fine. The contact configuration is identical on all 3 batteries. The old batteries latch into place exactly the same as the new one.
I'm stumped and Ryobi is absolutely no help.
 
  #5  
Old 05-16-24, 07:29 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,164
Received 2,270 Upvotes on 2,022 Posts
I would assume manufacturing tolerances stacked up in the wrong direction for you.
 
  #6  
Old 05-16-24, 11:11 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,031
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
"Manufacturing tolerances " , I really like that way of saying poor quality stuff. I was trying to figure out how to politely say something to that effect as well but I will defer to your statement instead!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: