Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

2 Cycle Engine Question

Visiting Guest

07-14-02, 07:05 AM   #1  
Joe_F
Attn: "Fish" & Cheese.

Not Fish and Chips, but Fish and Cheese .

My sister called me up that she got me a gas blower at a garage sale for free. "Take it honey. It ran in the spring, but I believe it just needs a new spark plug....your brother should be able to get it running".

It is a:

McCulloch 320BV blower/vac.
Model: 40023200
Serial: 21-016333

Champion states it uses a DJ8J spark plug at 025" gap. I always stock a case of J19LM's .

It says it meets 1995 California standards so it has to be at least that new.

My questions:

1) What should I do before starting it? It's a 2 cycle, I'm a little new to those things . My last 2 cycle engine, a 1985 Suzuki FA50 moped, had automatic mixing. I'll get the ratios of fuel/oil from McCulloch, I've already jotted down the # to call them for the owner's book.

2) Any idea how old it is? Is it any good (I figured how could I go wrong for free). I always thought McCulloch was half way decent.

Thanks for any advice gents.

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

GA

07-14-02, 08:11 PM   #2  
Hi Joe!

There shouldn't be much to do before trying to start it. Check the air filter, make sure your fuel lines are in good shape, and dump any gas that may be in the tank. Fill with fresh gas, probably a 50:1 ratio, but check to be sure. I don't know that you'll have any luck with the customer svc # for McCulloch. There have been some changes with that company. I'm not sure if they're completely out of business, or just what. I know parts are sometimes a challenge to get.

McCulloch is/was a decent product usually. Not the best, but better than the run-of-the-mill stuff. (IMO) Let us know if you run into problems starting it!

"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

Visiting Guest