Should I 'cut in' or use a paint edger?

Old 07-31-03, 09:40 PM
dgglmr
Visiting Guest
Question Should I 'cut in' or use a paint edger?

I'm a newbie to both this forum, and painting. My questions are: What is the best technique to ensure a razor sharp line between the ceiling (white) and the walls or our kitchen (yellow)? We're painting the walls yellow and leaving the ceiling the existing white. Being a newbie, I'm not sure I have the skillset for 'cutting in' and wonder if a paint edger really works all that well.

Perhaps naively, I thought I'd use a straight edge of sorts (like a 10" putty blade) to delineate between ceiling and wall to provide that straight line, moving the straight edge down the wall making sure not to get paint on the ceiling. Is this a good idea?

Thanks in advance for any and all input.

Old 07-31-03, 10:13 PM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I've never used a paint edger so I can't help you there. I always use a 3" sash type brush. A HIGH QUALITY brush helps alot. To make a crisp looking line at the ceiling, when I cut in I wrap my paint up on the ceiling just the tiniest fraction. When you step back, it will look nice and straight, its much harder to cut in the exact corner of ceiling and wall.

I wouldn't suggest using a straight edge either because I haven't found a ceiling or wall thats completely straight yet

prowallguy

Old 08-01-03, 03:47 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is better to freehand the line. Straight edges and tape just don't work well enough to rely upon them. I run the ceiling paint onto the wall just a bit. When you paint the wall, any imperfection won't leave you with an unpainted area. As you do some of this, it will become easier. Besides, the intersection between wall and ceiling is not that easy to see, the viewing angle is not good, the lighting is generally poor, nobody looks up anyway, and only your mother-in-law would have the gall to say anything.

Old 08-01-03, 07:48 AM