New drywall

Old 01-05-04, 01:10 PM
daleg
Visiting Guest
New drywall

I am preparing to prime fresh drywall in my newly renovated basement. I have planned on using a Sheetrock Brand Product called "First Coat" that is supposed to prevent joint banding and photographing on the finished wall. I am planning on using a very light shaded egg shell finish (Dutch Boy Dura Clean) that I know will hide many flaws in itself, but I feel the more hide the better being that I am a novice drywaller.
I have incorporated a breathing wall in my design and need to keep the walls semi permiable(sp) so I feel the less sealer in the wall the better. But my question is will I have an issue with too much absorbtion with the egg shell paint? I Have three gallons to cover approx. 750 sq. ft. that I know under normal conditions would be more than enough.

Old 01-05-04, 01:26 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I am unfamiliar with the term: breathing wall.

Prime and paint the wall as usual. Primer generally covers 400sf per gallon, the same as paint. Use full coats to provide proper coverage. Using a thin coat of primer won't make the wall more or less permeable than otherwise when painted. A wall with primer and finish paint has a rating of around 1.

Walls painted with latex are about as permeable as it gets.

Hope this helps.

Old 01-07-04, 04:22 PM
A
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I recently had a problem with newly textured drywall where I had some of the freshly applied paint release from the ceiling.

I later realized what happened is after priming, I waited only 1 day until applying the next coat of paint. Apparantly the texture had absorbed moisture from the primer and when the primer dried, the moisture was trapped to some extent in the texture. When the weight of 3 coats became too much, a bubble appeared in one area.

Does my explanation make sense?
How long should one wait after priming newly textured drywall?