Need advice on painting kitchen cabinets

Old 02-15-04, 08:01 PM
KSP
Visiting Guest
Need advice on painting kitchen cabinets

I need to update my early 70's kitchen cabinets. The actual cabinets themselves are in great shape structurally and I can't afford to replace or even reface them so I am going the painting route. They are wood and stained very dark and the finish looks horrible. The doors are some sort of particle board with a laminate/veneer finish. Aside from painting I will also be replacing all of the hardware. I am new to home improvement and I know this will be a time consuming process but something has to be done and I must do it myself.
So, first I need some advice on the best way to go about prepping the actual wood cabinets for painting. Does the stain have to be removed? Or, can it just be cleaned, primed and then painted? Do I use regular interior wall paint or is there a specific type of paint for wood?
Secondly, the doors themselves with the laminate/veneer finish....this I think is going to be the worst to attempt. Again, what is the best method of preperation? Do I rough them up with something like sandpaper to get the paint to stick? I am at a loss as to where to even start. I want to really brighten them up, maybe even considering a lighter color (white or similar) to the cabinets, and then a slightly darker shade as an accent to the door themselves.
Once the surfaces are ready for paint is there anything special that I need to use to apply the paint other than typical rollers?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Susi

Sponsored Links
Old 02-15-04, 09:35 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Clean all the surfaces to be painted thoroughly, because cabinets are a magnet for grease in a kitchen that is frequently cooked in.

Sand all the areas lightly, just enough to scuff the surfaces. Dust them off and run a tack cloth over them to rid it of all the remaining particles.