exterior stained entry door/prowallguy

Old 04-14-04, 04:53 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
exterior stained entry door/prowallguy

Prowallguy,
We've interacted here on the forum before about sprayer suggestions that a poster had asked about. As I said before; I've been doing this now for 32 years. I've got an ext. entry door; the type with the window lights on both sides the height of the door. The people let the door become weather damaged(not from the sun, but from the moisture, and rain). The door probably needed recoating with poly/sealer/spar,ect., 2 years ago. I've done a hundred or more of these doors before with no problems. I stripped it down completely, and sanded and wooled all areas of the door to where I thought is was a complete fresh start again. I stained the door with a golden oak and came back the next day to put my first coat of sealer on it, and the door has got milky looking areas on it . Not just at the bottom where the rain probably beat it much harder; but in various placed over the door face. I tried doing a small area with a second coat of the stain to see if it would eliminate the spots, but it was a no go. I'm left with the prospect of having to take the door down, and actually try to take 1/32(or something anyway) off the entire surface to try and make sure I'm past the damaged area. This is a $400,000.00 home, so they want it right at whatever the cost. Have you got any suggestions from one brother in the trade to another?
John Sr.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-14-04, 05:56 AM
You didn't use one of those stain/poly mix one-step products did you? And what brand of stain is it?

Old 04-14-04, 06:04 AM
I also forgot to ask what method was used to strip the door down? Chemical or mechanical?

Old 04-14-04, 06:50 AM
J