another cabinet painting question

Old 05-25-05, 07:42 AM
Millipede
Visiting Guest
another cabinet painting question

I'm going to be painting my kitchen cabinets next week. They are currently varnished wood, never been painted before. I know all the prep steps that need to be done, but I'm not sure what type of roller to get. Does a thicker nap give more or less of a texture (I'm looking for the smallest amount)?

I realize that brushing gives the least amount of orange-peeling, but I know from other projects that I'm not very good at getting an even amount of paint on with a brush. I'm just much more comfortable with a roller. On the walls I didn't care about texture, but it will look strange on cabinets.

- Millipede

Old 05-25-05, 09:57 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Use a 1/4 -3/8" nap especially made for enamel. Stay away from the cheap ones as they tend to leave fuzz. I prefer the mohair roller covers for this type of work. The larger the nap the more paint it holds but the more stiple it will leave on the painted surface. If you desire the brushed look you can apply the paint with a roller and then gently 'tip it off' with a brush.

Old 05-25-05, 09:57 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Use foam rollers, brushes and sash pads[not foam] of different sizes to paint the cabinets frames and the doors[unless they are intricate then spray the doors.].Keep a brush [foam or regular Melemine paint will level out like a spray job. Use bullseye 123 or waterbased bullseye from here . Just first degrease[greased lightling] and then clean with soilax pro[paint store=no rinse] or similar and prime then paint.Do not sand first. You do not need to sand with these primers as they cure they become permanent. Should be done by lunch

Old 05-25-05, 11:05 AM
K