Flashing Help???!!!!

Old 02-27-06, 12:28 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Flashing Help???!!!!

I just finished my basement and had someone tape and texture it using the orange peel texture. When started priming (Zinseer 123) my problems first started. After I primed the wall you could see areas of that appeared to not be covered by the primer, so after the primer dried I decided to put another coat of primer on it and got the same splochy areas. I know primer doesn't look good going on so I decided to paint next. I am using a Shermin Williams paint (duration) Dover white to be exact. I started painting the walls and the same areas the primer looked bad the paint was doing the same thing, so next i decided to put another coat of paint on to cover the areas. Sure enough it still looked the same very splochy. I am not sure what to do now?? Please help. I have heard this is called fashing?, but I am not sure?? Any idea on what caused this or how to fix it?

Thanks
Very confused

Old 02-27-06, 05:44 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
Welcome to the forums

Did you sand the walls any between coats? I doubt that the paint would flash inside the house. Assuming that the problem areas aren't where the cut in and roller meet, I doubt it is a problem with the paint or painting procedure. I'm inclined to believe that it is a problem with the texture not being even or maybe in the drywall hanging or finishing.

Duration is good paint and Dover White is fairly forgiving as far as colors go. Did you have good paint conditions - warm air, warm wall? Unless the wall/air temp was less than 50` before,during and after painting it is unlikely that the paint would be at fault. Do these areas only show up at certain angles or lighting? Where exactly are these splotchy areas? Can you describe them anymore?

Old 03-01-06, 03:16 PM
D
Confused

marksr,

Thanks for your reply.