How to paint underside of crown molding

Old 08-03-06, 06:01 AM
N
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to paint underside of crown molding

Hi, we just put up crown molding and bead board wainscoting in my daughter's bedroom. We painted the ceiling in flat Benjamin Moore creme fraiche. The window trim, door, baseboard, wainscoting, and crown molding will be the same creme fraiche paint but in pearlized gloss. The wall will be flat lemon meringue. I don't know how to paint the underside (bottom) of the crown molding (I do not mean the lower part of the molding, but the flat bottom created by the cut of the molding.) Since it meets the wall, should it be the color of the wall or should it be the color of the crown molding? I know it is only 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick but am not sure if it matters. I started painting without thinking about it and stopped in the middle when the thought occured to me. Thanks.

Old 08-03-06, 06:44 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 720 Likes on 631 Posts
The correct way is to paint the entire moulding with the trim paint. This is easiest to do if the crown is painted before the walls are. There are many who 'cheat' and don't paint the bottom edge with the trim color.

Old 08-03-06, 10:36 AM
N
Red face

Thank you very much. Should have posted the question before putting it up.

Old 08-04-06, 08:16 AM
W
I've always done this area with the trim color. While it is easier to paint before putting up, I inevitably have to run a brush along this edge afterwards. Tape the wall or use a wide putty knife.

Old 08-04-06, 08:51 AM