How to Mask off a "Popcorn" Ceiling?

Old 09-25-06, 06:00 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile How to Mask off a "Popcorn" Ceiling?

Hello All,
I am a newbie at painting so any advice is greatly appreciated...

I am getting to ready to paint the interior walls of a bedroom that has a "popcorn" textured ceiling. I only want to paint the walls and not the ceiling. How can I go about masking off the ceiling so that when I edge the walls near the ceiling, it doesn't get painted as well? The texture of the popcorn is such that I don't think I can get any tape to stick properly to it.

Has anyone else out there figured out a good approach? Thanks for any and all tips!

Regards,
Barb.

Old 09-25-06, 08:24 PM
I definitely wouldn't consider masking this type of ceiling. The tape will pull the popcorn off.

I'd use a paint edger shield. I have several, one about a foot long, and another about 2 feet long. If you're right handed, you hold it in your left hand and place the metal edge up in the crack between the ceiling and the wall. You press it firmly in the crack so no paint can get behind it (some always does though; but, just leave it and move on...you can touch up the ceiling afterwards if necessary).Then you use a paint brush to paint the top couple of inches of the wall, up to the metal edge. Then you pull the metal edger shield down, wipe off the back edge (if any paint got behind there), and move on down the wall. Go all the way around the room. You'll get the hang of it as you move along. Then come back with your roller to finish off the walls.

You can get paint edger shields at Lowes and Home Depot.

Old 09-26-06, 05:38 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts